Honeywell RTH6300 thermostat with Trane Heat Pump


  #1  
Old 12-08-20, 01:02 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell RTH6300 thermostat with Trane Heat Pump

Am trying to replace a White Westinghouse thermostat with the Honeywell, but am not getting heat....

The RTH6300 manual indicates if I have a W2 wire to call a contractor, I do have a W2. Nothing runs when I put the W2 wire in the W2 slot on the Honeywell. The fan glows cold air when I connect the W2 wire to the Honeywell at W (did so accidentally).

There is also a jumper between W2 and E on the White Westinghouse, the Honeywell manual says to remove all jumpers. Just not sure what do to with the jumper and W2, think I have Y- O- R- G - C wires figured out as direct matches between the existing thermostat and the Honeywell.

Can you guys help me figure out how to wire the Honeywell properly? Thanks!

Pics follow - first is White Westinghouse, second Honeywell connector, without wires.
 

Last edited by dhartlein; 12-08-20 at 02:15 PM.
  #2  
Old 12-08-20, 01:28 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #3  
Old 12-08-20, 02:41 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,675
Received 49 Votes on 44 Posts
White to Aux/W2 and then tell the Honeywell that you have a heat pump when asked. No jumper for the new system.
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-20, 03:02 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! will give it a try!
 
  #5  
Old 12-08-20, 04:01 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We have heat! Thanks, appreciate the advice. The manual says if we had Y1, W1 and W2 wires stop and call a qualified contractor. "And" is a big word - clearly failed basic grammar - and then the jumper threw me. Glad it was this easy, thanks again!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: