Need thermostat wiring colors for new thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-17-21, 03:12 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need thermostat wiring colors for new thermostat

I have a Trane TCONT802AS32DA Thermostat Right now it is wired like this
Blue to b terminal
Green To G Terminal
Yellow To Y terminal
Orange To W1 Terminal
Redish or Pink To R Terminal
Black To W2 Terminal
I want to Wire This To A Honeywell Focus Pro 5000 Model TH522D
Terminals Are
L- E- AUX-G-O/B-C-Y-R-RC
I have a Goodman Package Unit Model GPH1424M41AA HeatPump With Back-Up

Current Thermostat

Heat.
It is a 2 Heat and 1 Cool Unit
Can Someone Please Explain How To Hook Up Old Wires To New Focus Pro 5000 Thermostat?
I have Never Done Anything Like This Before. Any Help Would Be Appreciated!!


 
  #2  
Old 01-17-21, 08:12 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,667
Received 49 Votes on 44 Posts
First you need to go with the outer letters as you have a heat pump.
The old thermostat had a B for the blue wire. This would be C on the new thermostat.
The black would go to E with a jumper to Aux
Orange to O/B

Then make sure to follow the instructions to program the new thermostat for a heat pump.
 
PJmax voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 01-17-21, 10:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,367
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

R -------> red -----------> R (keep jumper)
O -------> orange ------> O/B
Y -------> yellow -------> Y
G -------> green -------> G
B -------> blue ---------> C
W1 -----> black -------> AUX + E

Typically black should have been on X2 and white should have been on W1.
Was something changed ? I see white just hanging around.

setup 1: 5 - 2 heat/1cool heat pump
setup 2: O - default
setup 3: 1 - electric furnace blower control
setup 5: 9 - heat cycle
setup 6: 9 - aux heat cycle
setup 8: 9 - default
setup 26: 0 comfort 1 economy

If you set 26 to 0 - the electric heat will run more to regain heat. More expensive to heat.
If you set 26 to 1 - the heat pump will try to regain heat but will take a little longer.
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-21, 01:39 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good Morning
Thank You Very Much For The Help! Never Done This Before.
You're a lifesaver!
Brian
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-21, 01:50 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry Forgot something! Yes, this thermostat was wired to a trane xl1400heat pump from years ago. Then back in 2015, the goodman was put in. I just assumed they wired it right because they well know the company and very highly rated? Evidently, they did something wrong?
I do have one more question. We just had a problem just last week. The outdoor unit would not come on. But the aux heat worked just fine. Found out it had sprung a leak in only 5 years? Could the fact thermostat wired wrong have caused the leak in the copper line? The other trane xl1400 heat pump lasted 20 years with never a leak at all. I am glad it was under warranty.
Brian

 
  #6  
Old 01-18-21, 11:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,367
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
No.... a wiring problem won't cause that type of mechanical failure. Leaks are usually caused by installation issues. Could be a leaky schrader valve or bad brazing at a fitting and a more somewhat distant possibility is a defective evaporator coil inside the air handler.

No big deal with exchanging black for white wire. Just not typical.
Universally black is X2 (backup or E heat) and white is aux heat.
Since many times the white and black are connected together at the air handler.... one is picked to be used.
 
  #7  
Old 01-18-21, 01:04 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good Afternoon
I have a quick question. Can you tell me why I would need the jumper for this? I had hooked it up and it runs just fine and was actually warmer than any other time since we got the heat pump 5 years ago.
I do appreciate all the help you have given I am so glad there are people out there who are willing to help.
Brian
 
  #8  
Old 01-18-21, 02:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,367
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
Can you tell me why I would need the jumper for this?
Are you asking about the AUX to E jumper ?

During normal operation..... if the room temperature goes 3 or more degrees below the set temperature..... the AUX heat terminal is energized. This lets your heat pump and the electric heat run together. When the room temperature approaches set temperature..... the AUX heat turns back off. It typically cost twice as much to heat by electric over the heat pump so the idea is to use the AUX heat as little as possible.

If your heat pump malfunctioned and you needed to shut it down...... you could set your thermostat to E (emergency) heat and just the heating elements would run. If you didn't put the jumper in place.... you would have no E heat.
 
  #9  
Old 01-18-21, 05:38 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good Evening Pete
Thank you so much for that explanation. I might put the jumper in? Not sure since we have a wood stove as a backup anyway. One day I am bored might do it just to be doing something lol
I really like the new thermostat already a big difference in all of it. Thanks again for all your help. Much appreciated.
Brian

 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: