Natural gas heater help


  #1  
Old 12-05-22, 09:36 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Natural gas heater help

I have 2 rooms that need supplement heat. I sized and installed all the gas line according to code and pressure tested for leaks. I only have one heater installed now, waiting for other in mail. The room I don't have a heater for I ran the line and capped it.
When I try to light the heater the pilot goes out as soon as I lift my finger off control knob, pilot will stay on as long as I keep control down. I noticed the pilot flame does not reach the thermocouple causing pilot to go out. I shut off my furnace and tried to light the heater, the pilot was now working properly. I let it run for 20 minutes and then kicked on my furnace, heater then went out.
I'm wondering if I need to call gas company and have them increase pressure or what may be the issue. I bled the air from heater, furnace, and hot water tank. I didn't bleed the pipe I capped for the other heater I don't have yet, do I still need to crack the cap in order to bleed it even though there's no appliance hooked up? Wondering if maybe air in that line would affect this heaters performance. The heater uses a 630 eurosit. Any input is much appreciated, thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 12-07-22, 12:47 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Luckily they fixed it for free since they were replacing them in spring anyways, either that or they didn't like that I said I will build a fire in my living room because I won't use electric heaters until it's fixed or maybe it was when I told them I'm a Kubota Technician and I'll bring an excavator home and do it myself lol
 
PJmax voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 12-05-22, 10:06 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,348
Received 86 Upvotes on 68 Posts
When you shut off the furnace, does the pilot flame on the heater actually increase is size? If so, they it does seem like a gas supply issue. At a previous home, construction of a retaining wall by the county ended up crushing the gas line to my home, and it acted the same as yours....the water heater worked fine until the boiler fired up, then both would go out. Gas company ended up replacing the line to my meter because the crushed area was under the retaining wall...

Another slight possibility is that the furnace is backdrafting the heater. You could rule that out by opening a window in the room with the heater.
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-22, 10:13 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yes the pilot gets bigger as soon as furnace shuts off. I should add that the furnace is a runtru that was installed summer 2021, last winter I had many issues. When the temps dropped to 25 or less the furnace would not keep the house warm and would through a code. Taking the hose off the condensate trap would stop it from throwing code but still wouldn't get the house over 62 degrees. The installer made several trips out and told me I need supplement heat. I ran electric supplement last year and switched to natural gas this year. I wonder if the issue with my natural gas heater are related.

I also have a gas hot water tank, that works fine and pilot stays on even with furnace on. I also tested the supplement heater with the hot water tank valve closed and there was no difference.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-22, 02:12 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,348
Received 86 Upvotes on 68 Posts
Well it's certainly possible there is a supply issue. I'd call the gas company; they'll put a manometer on to check pressure and probably do a flow test.
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-22, 02:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
The installer made several trips out and told me I need supplement heat.
What ??!!!?

Because he couldn't fix the gas furnace ?
I'd find a new tech.

The new heaters you're installing are vented to outside.....correct ?
 
  #7  
Old 12-05-22, 03:56 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yes vented properly.
I luckily haven't spent a dime on there trips out bc the furnace has a 10 year warranty. I would find a new tech but I live in a very small town and they're the only Trane/Runtru dealer for quite a few miles.
 
  #8  
Old 12-07-22, 06:36 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post


Checked pressure at inlet on supplement heater, had 10" wc and when main furnace kicked on it dropped to 1" wc, drop of 9" wc. I called gas company and they came out and found a leak underground between the street and meter. I was then informed that it is my responsibility. They gave me a list of authorized installers and I was quoted around $2500. Gas company showed back up and said they are going to be replacing the lines in the spring, converting all to plastic, so they said they were going to do it for free early for me since I had a failure. Gas company had a crew there within a half hr and were there till 11 last night fixing the line. Furnace works much better now and the supplement heater works with the furnace on.
I posted pictures of the pilot light, does it look to big? Just asking because when pressure was taken at the inlet port of the supplement heater, the regulator on the heater was adjusted and idk if it was put back where it was originally.
 
  #9  
Old 12-07-22, 10:52 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
I called gas company and they came out and found a leak underground between the street and meter. I was then informed that it is my responsibility.
What ??!!!?

That is unheard of. The utility company is always responsible for the line to the metering device.
Is this some type of private development ?
 
  #10  
Old 12-07-22, 11:22 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post

I'm western PA and when I asked why it matters where I live, I was told it's politics.... go figure

 
  #11  
Old 12-07-22, 11:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
Is Western Pennsylvania a different country ?
Wow.... and it's the same provider.

The only thing that makes sense is that there are long runs between the main line and the homes in western Pa.
 
  #12  
Old 12-08-22, 05:39 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West of Chicago
Posts: 355
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I'm not seeing the actual difference between central and western... says they own and service main line up to and including the meter. Your piping from the meter on...

Both say that, don't they?

Edit- oh, ok I see the pictures are different... but the wording sounds the same.. do they both own the meter, but not the pipe b4 that? Super weird.
 
  #13  
Old 12-08-22, 09:03 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The way they word it is misleading. I think what they mean is they own up to property line and meter but not between or after meter.
 
  #14  
Old 12-09-22, 06:05 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West of Chicago
Posts: 355
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I guess as mentioned already, properties with long runs across fields or whatnot... I could see how that would be expensive. And folks in town could be upset their rates help pay for those installations.

Politics, man. Politics.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: