X-10 question

Old 02-29-04, 01:41 PM
traveler
Visiting Guest
Question X-10 question

I'm pretty new to X-10 and I hope this is the right forum to post this on. I recently purchased am IR543 and a couple of lamp modules to get my feet wet with the whole X-10 world. I find that when I plug them into some circuits in the house they work fine but in one of my basement circuits they don't seem to talk to each other. This particular circuit has several flourescent lights in it, could that be causing a problem with the X-10? I also noticed that the controller has to be plugged into the same circuit as the lamp module before it will work. Is this due to limited range of the IR543 controller?

Traveler

Sponsored Links
Old 03-01-04, 11:46 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not a particularly uncommon issue with X-10 modules and transmitters. They are not the best products on the market - they are simply the cheapest (the old agage "You get what you pay for" comes to mind.)

While X-10 is widely available and easy to integrate - it definitely has it's flaws. One of those is that interference from TV's, fluorescents, etc. can really kill the signal. Not to mention you will not get signals across phases without the phase coupler.

It's pretty much hit and miss with X-10 - if it doesn't work, troubleshoot a little, but don't waste too much time on it.

Good luck!

Old 03-22-04, 03:50 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
x10 trouble shooting especially with eratic behavior is more an art than science, imo