New to automation

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-13-04, 09:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 106
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New to automation

im looking to hook up some security cameras and be able to view on any television and a pc. What cable would I run to the tv's and the computer. i have looked at some of the sites , but still confused. any help would be appreciated.
Thanks Tearflop
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-14-04, 09:05 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Coax will do it. It really depends on what kind of cameras you want to connect and how you want to connect them, but for the most part, you can send any kind of signal over coax. You may also want to run a Cat5 just for future use.

The easiest way to do something like this is to use a modulator to, essentially, "take over" a few of your cable channels (selectable) to view the cameras from any TV in the house.

If you use an RCA video (composite) signal, you could just connect to the TV's/Computer's video in. I personally like the modulators.

Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 07-14-04, 08:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 106
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds good,
Thanks for the input.
Can I also view the cameras thru the pc
thanks

Tearflop
 
  #4  
Old 07-15-04, 04:02 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That all really just depends on the type of cameras you use and the hardware you install. Of course, there are ways to do anything you want.

Good luck!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: