stupid conduit question

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-17-04, 09:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
stupid conduit question

hi,

I've got a question regarding using PVC conduit for running cat5 cable for phone/data.
I want to put a piece of 2 1/2" conduit from the attic down to the basement to run wires through...
This might be a dumb question, but what is the best way to secure the conduit in place?
I have been reading around the forum and people say run conduit, but I can't find much info on how it is actually properly done...
It seems like if I drill the holes large enough to run the conduit, there will be nothing to hold the stuff in place
any advice would be graciously accepted.
thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-17-04, 07:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can use conduit straps to hold the conduit in place.
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-04, 12:27 AM
steve_gro's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,092
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is that one 2" conduit or two " conduits? A 2" conduit, aside from being an odd size, is very large for anything inside a normal dwelling especially if it's little phone & data wires, unless you have a huge mess of them. I would think that a 1" pipe would be more than enough (but I don't know exactly what you're planning to put in it). If you were to fill a 1" pipe and needed more, you could add another 1" pipe later. As for installation, you drill holes, feed the pipe and strap it with conduit straps as mentioned earlier. Riser clamps can be used to secure pipe on flooring.

Isn't everything wireless these days anyway?

Just my 2 cents,

-Steve G
 

Last edited by steve_gro; 11-10-04 at 11:45 PM.
  #4  
Old 11-17-04, 07:22 PM
SkyKing
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I ran 32 lines in conduit from attic to basement (phone, data, cable) (2" or 3", i don't remember). It's easy and mine was 28 ft tall.

To finish the project off, I used conduit straps. The problem was the space the 90 degree bend made left the pipe away from the wall. I used 2"x2" blocks to space the conduit out and used lag bolts in to the board siding/framing. Seal the entry and exit points of the attic. Paint the sucker the same color as your house and wallah... you have a structure that is solid and looks like a weird radon system .

Good Luck!
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-04, 07:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 540
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
most size of 2 hole straps are available or make your own from plumbers tape,

but do not run low voltage wires, t.v. / Audio/ speaker etc. and high voltage in the same conduit 120 volt a/c for example.

lol steve
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: