Interested in Home Automation

Old 01-22-05, 08:52 PM
Interested in Home Automation

Hi,

I am new to home automation and have been interested in home automation for quite a while now. I am wanting to get into the voice automation end of it. I am familiar with the x10 devices and the leviton brand as well. I have been reading about HAL2000 and have been wondering if that is a good program or if there is a better program out on the market. I want to be able to monitor a security system on it as well. The Basic and Deluxe versions of HAL don't support security monitoring.

Thanks,

Chris

Sponsored Links
Old 01-23-05, 01:20 PM
New to Home Automation

Hi,

I have heard about this for about 8 years and am interested. I want to get a basic idea of what kind of computer I would need to run the home automation software. I am also interested in getting into voice automation later.

Thanks,

Chris

Old 01-24-05, 06:30 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Well, this all depends on what you want to do. If you want just basic automation (turning on/off lights, setting up lighting scenes, even turn on/off appliances and audio/video control) you don't necessarily need a computer or any software - just the products and their controllers.

If you want to do more advanced programming (like IF/THEN programming) or advanced controls (internet, networked, wireless, etc.) then you'll have to connect the automation hardware to the ethernet or local computer.

Tell us what kind of automation you want to do and we'll give you some products to look at.

Good luck!

Old 01-31-05, 11:02 AM
homeautomation
Visiting Guest
home automation for beginners

The X10 activehome pro is great entry-level home automation kit. It is super-easy to set up, and can easily be built upon as you grow and learn more. As for voice activation, I haven't got there yet - I still think there are too many bugs.
* Edited - sorry, no advertising *

Last edited by SafeWatch; 01-31-05 at 11:41 AM. Reason: NO ADVERTISING