I'm so confused, please help with new home

Old 08-18-05, 04:18 PM
Salmo
Visiting Guest
I'm so confused, please help with new home

Hi folks, new to this. We were waiting (a LONG time) for a quote on a home automation control (mainly lighting) from the only local desing guy around for our new 4,000 sq foot home. To make a long story short he took six weeks to come up with a quote, which topped 20K for lighting, 10K for cable, 14K for structured wire, 5K for my media room and 5K for security. Blew me away. He said lighting with the Lutron controls can't be done for less than 10K and that's only the first floor. I know nothing about this, and now face my builder wanting to close walls up VERY soon.

I want to do lighting scenes and lighting touch panel controls in most major rooms. Where does Cat5e come in to play? Does that have anything to do with lighting? I am an intelligent professional, but now I face time pressure to come to a solution. My builder is an excellent builder but does "normal" lighting. Being in a more rural area, nobody does this stuff except this guy who I think is crazy. So I'm looking at going online, buying what I need (which I have no idea what I need) and having an electrician wire it. I will stay up tonight surfing trying to understand as well. Many thanks, from one very frustrated guy.

Old 08-20-05, 07:19 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm not an expert at this, but

Cat 6/5/5e can be used for a lot of things, such as telephone/DSL wiring, computer networking, almost any low voltage/low current application.