New house (just starting)

Old 03-28-06, 09:25 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New house (just starting)

Ok, I'm new to the home automation and video survalience world...

What I would like to do (plus some other ideas that you guys/gals use would be helpful)
1. Alarm System, about 24 zones, not monitored
2. Video Survalience, 3 cameras (front door, back door, and back yard (wireless in a tree would be ideal for the backyard one... to watch my house from a distance)), Internet monitoring is key.
3. Intercom between room's and the front door
4. I will be wiring the entire house for Network, Phone, and Cable (2 x CAT5e, 1 x RG6) Each room will have at least 3 outlets (approx 36 total outlets). Some will have just Network, some will have just cable. What is the best strategy... have 2 junction boxes 1 on the second floor and 1 in the basement or just run everything to the basement? What types of mountings are recommended to keep everything organized? Would it be smart to run a tube from the basement to the attic(to allow for future direct tv etc)? I will probably only have 6 jacks actaully hot at any 1 time and maybe 1-2 TV's on at a time
5. what is the best RG-6 crimper to use? I know compression ends are the best but I can't remember what the cable guy said the tool he used was...
6. What is the best way to distribute the RG-6? I will have Road Runner and HDTV so 2 outlets cannot be split more than once. I have 1 HDTV and 1 Road runner modem. Will I need an amplifier?
7. Whole House surge supressors best brand model number?

Now the fun part... I need to keep cost at a minimum.

Any ideas, tips, comments, would be greatful. My architect is finalizing the blueprints so we hope to break ground in the next 4-6 weeks with a total build time of 6 months. My dad is the builder so I have a lot of flexibility!

Sponsored Links
Old 08-02-06, 07:16 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Some advice on allowing for satellite and Over-the-air TV: