Simple phone distribution panel needed

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-30-06, 09:04 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Simple phone distribution panel needed

I have a need to distribute phone signal to 4-5 hard wired phones...I also need to have (second line) dsl to one location (office and then I use wireless etc.). I've tried the cat66 blocks and for whatever reason I can't get a good connection with those using my cat5 phone line...not sure if the wire size is too small?..currently I'm using some tiny wire nuts but I need to add a couple of lines and wire nuts won't cut it...I appreciate your suggestions.

Thanks
Doug
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-30-06, 05:03 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
they make phone line splices and leviton makes a punchdown block that you can buy for like 30 bucks at home improvement stores.
http://www.leviton-lin.com/catalog/BuildPage.aspx?BuildPageID=579
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-06, 05:07 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
66 block would be the thing to use , is your cat 5 cable solid or stranded ?

cant get a good connection punching stranded down .
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-06, 05:20 PM
7
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
66 block

if the wire is not stranded, try using a very small flat blade screwdriver to push the wire down into the punchdown, and also do you have the jumpers for this block? i know there is one of these blocks you need to use jumpers with, not sure if it is this one or not.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-06, 08:40 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mango man View Post
66 block would be the thing to use , is your cat 5 cable solid or stranded ?

cant get a good connection punching stranded down .
It's solid cat5 wire...but I went down that road once and I had a terrible time tring to get it to work...I used a small screwdriver/utility knive to push the wires on the block...I really don't want to try that again but maybe it was just me...

thanks
ds
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-06, 09:18 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
buy a punch down tool , I believe the have them at the big box home improvments for less than 20 0r go to ebay

you are only putting one conductor per pin right ?

ive seen peaple try to put two or three conductors down on a pin and it dont work

one cundutor per pin , punch tool and you should have a good solid connection
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: