Simple phone distribution panel needed


  #1  
Old 11-30-06, 09:04 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Simple phone distribution panel needed

I have a need to distribute phone signal to 4-5 hard wired phones...I also need to have (second line) dsl to one location (office and then I use wireless etc.). I've tried the cat66 blocks and for whatever reason I can't get a good connection with those using my cat5 phone line...not sure if the wire size is too small?..currently I'm using some tiny wire nuts but I need to add a couple of lines and wire nuts won't cut it...I appreciate your suggestions.

Thanks
Doug
 
  #2  
Old 11-30-06, 05:03 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
they make phone line splices and leviton makes a punchdown block that you can buy for like 30 bucks at home improvement stores.
http://www.leviton-lin.com/catalog/BuildPage.aspx?BuildPageID=579
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-06, 05:07 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
66 block would be the thing to use , is your cat 5 cable solid or stranded ?

cant get a good connection punching stranded down .
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-06, 05:20 PM
7
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
66 block

if the wire is not stranded, try using a very small flat blade screwdriver to push the wire down into the punchdown, and also do you have the jumpers for this block? i know there is one of these blocks you need to use jumpers with, not sure if it is this one or not.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-06, 08:40 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mango man View Post
66 block would be the thing to use , is your cat 5 cable solid or stranded ?

cant get a good connection punching stranded down .
It's solid cat5 wire...but I went down that road once and I had a terrible time tring to get it to work...I used a small screwdriver/utility knive to push the wires on the block...I really don't want to try that again but maybe it was just me...

thanks
ds
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-06, 09:18 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
buy a punch down tool , I believe the have them at the big box home improvments for less than 20 0r go to ebay

you are only putting one conductor per pin right ?

ive seen peaple try to put two or three conductors down on a pin and it dont work

one cundutor per pin , punch tool and you should have a good solid connection
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: