The Overhead Door Legacy 496 / 696 Opener will not open

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-10-08, 08:47 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The Overhead Door Legacy 496 / 696 Opener will not open

I have a Legacy garage door opener that wil not open. None of the controls will operate the door. The remote, control pad and the inside button all do not work. Is there a reciever that can be changed or reset?

Chris
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-10-08, 09:19 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Sounds more like you have either a power problem or a total opener failure. The button inside is wired to the opener, shouldn't need any resets or programming. Does the light on the opener come on, any blinking LED's on the power head?

Check the outlet that the opener is plugged into with a lamp.
 
  #3  
Old 07-10-08, 09:40 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the light comes on from the button inside and the remote but the opener doesn't operate
 
  #4  
Old 07-10-08, 10:03 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Well, that confirms you have power. If you push and hold the interior button, does the door move? Do you hear any noises from the motor area?

There should be an LED on the bottom of the unit near the controls. Do you get any indication from it when you push the interior button? (may need 2 people)
 
  #5  
Old 07-10-08, 10:46 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pushing and holding the interior button gets no response at all.
No noise no nothing
Pushing the remote gets the led to flash but doesn't open the door
Using the key pad outside gets the led to flash but doesn't open the door.

I get no motor noises at all or opening of the door unless I unplug the unit then plug it back in. This causes the door to open once or twice.

Chris
 
  #6  
Old 07-10-08, 10:54 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ehhhhh thats probably not a good sign.

Ok, one last thing to check, but I'm guessing you probably have a problem on the Control Board which unplugging and re-plugging re-sets temporarily. I'm more familiar with Chamberlain and genie...but they all operate similarly.


When the LED on the bottom blinks...what is the pattern and color?

IE 3 green blinks... pause... repeat or

5 green blinks...pause....repeat or

5 green blinks...pause....repeat....repeats Constantly

Something like that?
 
  #7  
Old 07-10-08, 11:05 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From the remote 1 blink
from the interior switch no blinks
from the key pad 1 blink
 
  #8  
Old 07-10-08, 11:41 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
The one blink...I'm guessing its RED? That would be programming of the wireless units. Possibly because of the unplugging of the unit. I wouldn't worry about that now.

If its green that's saying there is a Programming issue (up and down limits) or that there is an obstruction in the path of the safety beams. I doubt that's the issue if the opener works for 1 or 2 cycles after being unplugged for a while.

If it doesn't work from the button, you have other, more pressing, issues.

I still think it might be a Control board problem, that could cause all the symptoms.

I'm going to suggest you open the unit (after unplugging it), and unplug and re-plug any connectors or circuit boards you can.

There are other more knowledgeable techs on OH openers that check in here later in the day normally. I would wait for one of them before you call any techs or buy any parts.

BTW I've been presuming that the door operates fine manually, when released from the opener? Up and down smoothly, no problem stopping at the 1/2 way point?
 
  #9  
Old 07-10-08, 12:08 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the blink is red
The door operates normally when detatched from the opener
 
  #10  
Old 07-10-08, 12:57 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Hey Chris...sorry for the delays, getting ready for a weekend trip.

Well, I'm out of help. Try what was suggested, see if it helps, and wait for the Pro's to weigh in.

Another BTW...How old is the unit? any idea?
 
  #11  
Old 07-10-08, 01:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No problem I am happy for the help.
I'll give it a try
BTW unit is 4 years old
 
  #12  
Old 08-29-08, 07:16 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey folks,
I have the same issue as well with an Overhead door opener 696. I am using a generic "Clicker model" remote control unit. I have two remotes that worked fine up until the other day when my wife's remote stopped working. I have attempted to reprogram it at least 30 times today alone and I get the same result. Once I program it via the program button on the back of the opener, when i press the button on the remote all I get is a red blinking led. The other funny thing is that my remote still works fine, and when I attempt to program my wife's, I do not get that acknowledgment blink of the opener lights that the frequency has been reached. What gives? Anyone?????? Thanks,
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: