Thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-24-08, 05:13 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat

Folks:
I have a honeywell programable thermostat.This thermostat controls heating and ac and is ten years old.Yesterday we had as electrical storm and lost power five times during the day.
After the storm was over my air conditioning wouldn't shut
off nor would the display show temperature setting. The
display was blank.Also when I moved the thermostat switch
to off my heater came on. My feeling is the thermostat is shot
I would like to know if I should be looking at anything else in the system before bying a new thermostat? I would appreciate any and all sugestions.Thank you in advance.
Ron
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-25-08, 08:07 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
There is as much possibility that the logic board in your furnace has died as it being the thermostat.
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-08, 07:18 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: boston, mass
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thermostat

i would say it is the thermostat because in my honest opinion the circuit board in the t-stat(thermostat) would be more sensitive than the furnace and if you look at it this way. your t stat gets power from the furnace. and has separate wires for the components ex. green is typically the fan in your a/c, red is your t-stat power, yellow is your cooling and white is your heat. so when you flip the switch to shut off the t-stat the red should be completely disconnected from any of the wires above (yellow,white,green.) so if it is not something in your t-stat could have gone. hope i helped
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: