Some thoughts on home automation

Old 12-15-08, 09:06 AM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Some thoughts on home automation

I am just starting out with some ideas for home automation. I have been reading many posts here on this site, and have visited some of the manufacturers to get a "feel" for what their products do.

It is difficult with SO many posts to weed through at first to try to make a decision on what to start with. I want to start small and use what I buy to get a "feel" for the capabilities of this type of system. My home is 15 years old, and I have pretty clean power. I also have cable based Internet, a wireless N+ network with 1 GBit wired, (I rarely use wired now).

Basically, I have broken my requirements into a few basic catageories:

- What do I want to automate,(for now)?
Lighting only (in house and external building)

(Other things in the future)
Things like garage doors
Security, cameras and door locks, motion sensing

- What level of programmability and interface am I interested in?
Very high level since I do a lot of programming myself with factory automation and information systems, this really appeals to me the most.
I also am interested in remote access and wireless control with my laptop or Wondows Mobile based phone.

- How much do i want to spend; now, and overall?
Under $700 for some lighting controls, controller, and software.

- What system standard do i want to use?
Right now I am thinking something that can control Insteon, but am still researching hardware. The inexpensive X10 stuff looks good for basic on/off lighting, but I am afraid of adopting an old standard that might be going away.

I know my requirements will change over time, so I want to use a controller with good flexibility.