monitoring elderly parents

Old 02-09-10, 06:07 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
monitoring elderly parents

I would like to know what would be the best way to monitor and control some cooking appliances. We have elderly parents that left an electic stovetop element on for too long and we are worried it may happen again.
I would like to have the ability to turn these devices off automatically and remotely. If I could get it to text a few cellphones of family that live nearby that would be great.
I have been an electrician for over 20 years but I don't know a lot about automation. Thank you for any help you can give

Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-10, 06:40 AM
B
Received 37 Votes on 34 Posts
Hi bmc, boy does this topic bring back memories, and some are not so long ago. More than once we came home to a house full of smoke smell and a missing frying pan that got toasted, or found a burner left on high for who knows how long. We first hosted my father, then a few years later after he passed, we brought in my wife's mother and father. For those who haven't been through caring for your parents, whatever they are doing right today, they will do wrong tomorrow. We watch our children grow up, but watching our parents grow old was/is an entirely different experience, nursing home now.

Anyway, to your question. No, I haven't looked that hard, but haven't seen an off the shelf design to do what you want. But YES, it could be done. My initial thoughts were for a timer based control that would automatically turn a burner off after a set amount of time, kind of like a microwave. But a fire can start in just a few minutes.