AMX Controller Panel Design Question [TPDesign4]

Old 05-30-12, 07:44 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AMX Controller Panel Design Question [TPDesign4]

Hi,

I'm new here so forgive me if this isn't in the right category. I'm an IT Intern at a medium sized business. My boss has given me a task related to an AMX controller panel in the conference rooms at our office building. He's told me he doesn't even know if it's possible, but it was his idea of a "fun" project for me to try. I literally have no knowledge of this type of programming.

A few years ago we contracted an AMX installation company to install, program, and design 3 touch panel controllers in our conference rooms for A/V related control. I've attached a picture of the basic design of the interface.

Apparently support from the AMX installation company has been really bad and my boss no longer has interest in dealing with them. So he's asked me to, basically, backwards engineer the software on the panel. The software I've been given to accomplish this task is called "TPDesign4"

So basically my main questions are.

1. Is it even possible for me to do this?
2. If so, can I do it with TPDesign4 alone?

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-12, 04:16 AM
R
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Welcome to the forums.

TPD4 and NetLinx Studio are the two programs you'll need. TPD4 is the design software for the TP (touch pad), and NetLinx is the software for the controller.

Depending on the system you have, the touch pad is usually a dumb terminal. The controller (usually an "Axcess") receives data from the TP and sends acks back to it, but it is the controller that actually makes things happen in the room.

The program files are stored on the controller. They are compiled to a proprietary language and cannot be decompiled. You'll need the original source code for both the controller and the TP in order to change anything.