Amps through 12vdc power source


  #1  
Old 05-29-17, 02:27 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Amps through 12vdc power source

Hello everyone,

I'm building a DIY chicken incubator. I have built a few in the past but I always used 120vac for my heating elements. This time I want to use 12vdc so I can build a power backup incase the power goes out.

I need 250 - 300 watts to heat the incubator (its a large incubator) x 2 because it is double sided (one side for incubating one side for hatching) the problem is the amps. 250 watts (what i use now) @ 120volts is just over 2 amps per side. 300 watts @ 12volts is 25amps!

My question is since my 12vdc has to run through a power supply would the power supply that has to handle 25 amps be pulling 25 amps from the outlet (120vac) or would it be pulling 2.5 amps (300w /120vac)?
 
  #2  
Old 05-29-17, 02:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,895
Received 3,156 Likes on 2,836 Posts
Welcome to the forums.


Depending on the power supply it could be 3-5A at 120vac. There is loss in the power supply.

Have you chosen a power supply ?
You can't run a 25A load continuously on a 25A power supply.

You would be better off using two 20A power supplies..... especially if they're the switching type.
 
  #3  
Old 05-30-17, 03:26 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I haven't chosen a power supply yet. Still doing research. My main goal is to get away from the 250watt heat bulbs and move to something more reliable for a heat source.
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-17, 06:58 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,322
Received 1,623 Likes on 1,457 Posts
I agree, you don't want to run your power supplies at 100%. I would shoot for a working load of 50-75% of the power supplies capacity. If you really want to get efficient you can place your power supplies so their waste heat can be used in the incubator.
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-17, 08:59 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,183
Received 77 Likes on 69 Posts
If your back up system has 12 volt battery's, you will be drawing the 25 amp's from them.

Your power supply would go to an inverter I would assume. The inverter would draw 25 amps from the batterys. The power supply gets plugged into the the inverter and draws its normal amps.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: