Elk M1 system to control garage door openeers and more

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-17, 12:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 591
Exclamation Elk M1 system to control garage door openeers and more

Hi,

I bought an Elk M1 years ago and now that remodeling is coming to a close, want to use it.

My major restriction is not being able to use WiFi or other radio broadcast protocols (long story) and need to have wired connectivity. That hasn't been a problem with security switches like for doors/windows. And Ethernet connections are fine.

So first off, I need to put in two new garage door openers that I want to control from within the house, like if someone forgets to close a door. From the car, using the remote is OK.

All the devices I've seen (like MyQ) require WiFi. So how can I have wired control of the openers through the Elk or even via a computer? Is there something that works via X10? If so, how is the door signaled to close?

Thanks guys!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-17, 08:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,545
The door is signaled to close on a contact short. So whatever you use would need to have a N.O. (normally open) relay contact. That would be pretty universal. So you don't want to use wireless but wired is ok.

Run wire to two pushbuttons.
Many of my customers have a second remote control in their house.
You can have one control run both doors.

The M1 could control them but it needs a wired connection from it to the doors.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-17, 03:27 AM
Doorman2722's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 786
Originally Posted by PJmax View Post
The door is signaled to close on a contact short. So whatever you use would need to have a N.O. (normally open) relay contact. That would be pretty universal. So you don't want to use wireless but wired is ok.

Run wire to two pushbuttons.
Many of my customers have a second remote control in their house.
You can have one control run both doors.

The M1 could control them but it needs a wired connection from it to the doors.
The new openers that are My Q ready or have a yellow learn button will not work with a "Contact short" the pushbutton/ wall control is encoded so foreign devices cannot be added to activate the door. For example you can't touch the two pushbutton wires together to activate the door...it will not move
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-17, 10:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,545
Thanks for the update doorman.
 
  #5  
Old 10-24-17, 04:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 591
Thanks guys - but totally lost on this.

So say a plain-Jane Craftsman opener w/no MyQ.

Exactly what am I hooking up and how? How do I tie into the M1 and say a PC?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes