Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Home Automation Systems and Devices
Reload this Page >

Ring pro video doorbell intergration with existing whole house intercom system

Old 01-01-19, 09:03 PM

Hello. Not sure if this has been posted here. Pardon me im a newbie in this forum. Im working on a project trying to replace my existing intercom door button and speaker with a ring pro video doorbell. We just moved into this single family house that has whole house intercom system (M&S MC602). I want to install the ring pro video doorbell in place of the existing doorbell button and speaker. I did some online research but instructions are always not clear on that part of the connection on the main board or master unit of the intercom system. I read on one post of an owner that the installer he hired used a 12vac relay but didnt work so he used a 24vac relay and connected to the transformer of his m&s system (model was not specified). My intercom has a transformer TE5B which has 120v input and two 16v output (dual output transformer?). In regards to the post of that owner, my question is: is it ok to use a 24vac relay to a 16vac transformer? I cant find somebody willing to give it a try to install it so i wanna give it a try but i wanna make sure that it is safe to use the 24vac relay on a 16vac tranformer. Your input is much appreciated.
If somebody here has already done the integration of their ring video doorbell with their intercom system, pls post your step by step guide in your comments. Thank you very much.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-01-19, 09:25 PM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums.

You just want the ring to make your intercom ring ?
The audio and video from the ring are not directly connectable to your Nutone system. Your Nutone requires an analog audio input. That's not available directly from the ring.

Old 01-02-19, 07:48 AM