Fan blower CFM controlled by humidity/heat sensors

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-11-19, 08:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Fan blower CFM controlled by humidity/heat sensors

Is there an easy way to control an in-line fan blower CFM when humidity is too high or temperature is too low?
Do you have any modules in particular to recommend?
I am trying to use a mini split heat pump to heat more rooms in a house by adding a few ducts back and forth each rooms.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-15-19, 07:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Or perhaps I could find some electrically controlled duct damper to vary the amount of CFM for each room?
 
  #3  
Old 03-15-19, 11:43 AM
airmark's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: usa
Posts: 23
It sounds like you want a thermostatically controlled supply duct. Those are common items for 4" ducts and up. They are sold for 120 volt dampers and for 24 v dampers. Here a sample 24 v unit that includes the supply transformer.

https://www.amazon.com/Suncourt-norm...r=8-2-fkmrnull

There are many designs and motors to automate a damper. This design I presented does not require a controller, but does require a wall t-stat purchased separately.

Do not try to control the damper with both the temperature and the humidity. Temperature is usually what drives the primary damper process.
 
  #4  
Old 03-15-19, 01:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Thanks. I wonder if there are some that can be controlled using z-wave or zigbee. That could save a lot of wiring.
 
  #5  
Old 03-15-19, 02:53 PM
airmark's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: usa
Posts: 23
No. Those wireless applications do not support dampers and blowers. and it would not prevent you from having to hardwire your power circuits to the devices. A damper and blower both require a power source and that cannot be done wirelessly.
 
  #6  
Old 03-15-19, 04:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
For sure they need power locally but it would have been nice to remote control them from a wall thermostat unit that runs on battery instead of passing wires in the wall.
Not sure why but on amazon.ca those damper are really pricy compared to amazon.com.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes