sharp tv tuner


  #1  
Old 07-30-02, 08:07 PM
brianponder
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sharp TV Tuner

I have a Sharp TV Model # 25nc178, small console with a pivoting base. I can not get the tuner to work on the lower channels. All I want to do is get channel 3 or 4 to work so I can use a VCR or DVD's tuner which will allow me to watch the upper channels and/or watch video's or DVD's. My question? Is there a simple way I can repair this TV. The channels from 5 or 6 on up work. Thanks for you help, Brian Ponder.
 
  #2  
Old 07-30-02, 10:47 PM
FREDDYG_001
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
brianponder, If you push 03 or 04 on your remote will the channel stop on either of those stations, and if so would their be video or a snowy picture? Or does it just skip by and go straight to channel 05?



Fred
 
  #3  
Old 07-31-02, 05:00 AM
brianponder
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sharp TV Tuner

I don't have a remote. The manual button on the set will go to all channel's but all I get is snow on those lower channels. I meant to put that in the earlier post, sorry. Thanks Brian.
 
  #4  
Old 07-31-02, 05:42 AM
FREDDYG_001
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
brian, Sounds like the tuners at fault here.


Freds
 
  #5  
Old 07-31-02, 05:46 AM
brianponder
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sharp Tuner

That's what I was thinking. Not knowing much about TV's, is that a cheap repair? I work on computer system's in automobiles. I can solder small components. Do you think I could replace it myself?
 
  #6  
Old 07-31-02, 06:05 AM
FREDDYG_001
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
brian, Lets hope not. Look on the side of the tuner their will be a white label, write down thoses numbers and post back with them.


Fred
 
  #7  
Old 07-31-02, 06:08 AM
FREDDYG_001
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry brian, Meant to say lets hope it's not real expensive, the tuner that is.


Fred
 
  #8  
Old 07-31-02, 06:57 AM
brianponder
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sharp Tuner

Sorry, sorry sorry. My wife gave me the wrong number of pwbf5695pe.
That was wrong...it's VTYA1U110, again sorry and Thanks, Brian.
 

Last edited by brianponder; 07-31-02 at 06:24 PM.
  #9  
Old 07-31-02, 09:08 PM
FREDDYG_001
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Brian, No problem that first number is the part number for the circuit board. PTS Corp has your tuner.

Dealer Net/$49.95

Dealer Op/$59.95

DUD/$10.00

www.ptscorp.com

PTS Corp
5233 South Highway 37
Bloomington,IN 47401
1-800-844-7871

Fax: 1-800-844-3291
E-mail: pts@ptscorp.com


Fred
 
  #10  
Old 07-31-02, 09:16 PM
brianponder
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Tuner

Thanks for all the help!
 
  #11  
Old 07-31-02, 09:22 PM
FREDDYG_001
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Brian, Your so welcome.



Fred
 
  #12  
Old 08-23-02, 11:15 AM
brianponder
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sharp Tuner

FreddyG...I installed the new or should I say rebuilt tuner and now all the channels work. My only problem now is it has to search and adjust itself or tune to each channel every time I change channels. It looks like there is an adjustment on the tuner, should I try and adjust that? If you can help I'd appreciate it. Thanks again.
 
  #13  
Old 08-24-02, 12:41 AM
FREDDYG_001
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Don't move those coils,if you get that tuner from pts corp contact them and explain the problem your having with that tuner. The tuner control circuit should lock on every station not search on its own.


Fred
 
  #14  
Old 08-24-02, 05:16 AM
brianponder
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
sharp tuner

Thanks again, I'll call them Monday. It only has one adjustment that I can see. But I'll take your advise and try them first of the week, Brian.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: