home audio/theatre

Old 07-14-04, 08:07 AM
dr.evil
Visiting Guest
home audio/theatre

I'm looking to puchase a home theatre system...but now am wondering if I'd be better off simply getting a great audio system, including a receiver and speakers to create my own home theatre. I welcome all thoughts and ideas...I'm new to this sort of thing...

Thanks

Old 07-14-04, 06:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You will probably be better off purchasing components and building your system. Get a good 5.1 or 7.1 Dolby A/V receiver and the speakers of your choice.
And for viewing TV, preferably in High Definition, a powered sub woofer will MAKE the system. It doesn't have to break your bank - you can get a 100 watt SW for a little over a hundred dollars for starters. You can always upgrade with speakers.

happy shopping,

fred

Old 07-14-04, 06:40 PM
B
Yes, a sub makes things stand out. If you plan to use the audio system to also play music, you need some good front main speakers, as those itsy, bitsy speakers just don't cut it when it comes to playing music, imo.

Old 07-14-04, 08:26 PM
MillerUnlimited
Visiting Guest
It really depends on what kind of set up you want. If you want a home theater then you might be satisfied with smaller speakers. Some smaller ones pack a big punch. The subwoofers are what really creates the movie theater feel. If you are looking for music then get a surround sound with floorstanding speakers.

Old 07-14-04, 08:33 PM
MillerUnlimited
Visiting Guest
also