Adding turntable to home theatre??


  #1  
Old 07-31-04, 11:28 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 298
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Adding turntable to home theatre??

I am trying to hook up a Toshiba turntable to my Panasonic home theater system. I plugged the audio cable into the auxillary jacks on the unit, but have to put the unit on maximum volume to hear anything at all. Is there a compatibility problem? Am I missing something?

Any ideas?

Tom
 
  #2  
Old 07-31-04, 09:36 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You need a receiver with a phono input
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-04, 05:03 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 298
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hmmmm...

The manual with my home theater system says I can hook up a tape deck through the AUX inputs. Why would a turntable be different?

Thanks

Tom
 
  #4  
Old 08-02-04, 06:14 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
www.google.com search on "phono input" returned this as the 3rd link:

http://forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/1/11607.html
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-04, 03:26 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 298
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Thanks a lot Stereoguy.

I now understand what I need to do to get up and running.

Like many things in life, often things are not as simple as they seem at first.

Tom
 
  #6  
Old 08-04-04, 02:31 AM
Terahertz
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
preamp

Buy yourself a preamp.
youneed to hook up a turntable to a phono plug (all it is is an auxialry connection with a built in preamp) if you dont have a phono input then buy a preamp http://www.radioshack.ca/estore/Prod...roduct=4202111 and if you dont have money than make one there simple to build.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: