Buying television

Old 01-23-05, 05:06 PM
Pitto
Visiting Guest
Buying television

Oh, just in case I decide to give up on my sony. I could use some thoughts on plasma, LCD and DLP (think that is what the new stuff is) so that I have some knowledge. Only after I bought my CRT t.v. did I find out somethings that would have made me think twice about buying it. I understand that size does matter when it comes to plasma and LCD.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-05, 10:17 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Plasma is a flat panel only and very expensive. If you have money to burn - buy a plasma.
LCD and DLP in a rear projection are very good. There are advantages and disadvantages to each.
Google both and read for yourself.

Old 02-09-05, 04:48 PM
S
Plasma is the most susceptible to burn-in of the 3 and the "bulbs" have a fixed lifespan similar to a lightbulb, and when they go out the TV is basicly trash. I would focus on LCD and DLP.

Old 02-13-05, 09:40 AM
StuLev
Visiting Guest
Good TV Choices

I agree with the plasma thoughts. Plasma is great if you want a cool, thin TV for a wall, but it isn't great for general watching everyday as it is limited with it's lifespan. I am personally not crazy about the LCD units I've seen. The pictures don't look as good, especially with up-converted material. DLP and the new DILA units are nice. They are relatively thin and lightweight, but have nice pictures and are fairly affordable. Good luck!

Old 02-17-05, 12:23 PM
S
sbd
Originally Posted by stereoguy
Plasma is the most susceptible to burn-in of the 3 and the "bulbs" have a fixed lifespan similar to a lightbulb, and when they go out the TV is basicly trash. I would focus on LCD and DLP.
Plasma TV's do not have "bulbs", they have phosphor gases. I own a Pioneer 50" Plasma TV and it has the most vibrant picture I have ever experienced. It was well worth the price and will last just as long as most other TV lifespan.

Here is the information about Plasma TV lifespan from: