vcr/cable box connection

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-27-07, 08:45 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
vcr/cable box connection

Hello all....just changed some things around in house...now have a vcr and a cable box...cannot get vcr to tape off the incoming signal...vcr plays existing tapes fine...taking my history into consideration..I probably have something wired wrong..or a switch not in the right position..or something else simple..any help would be appreciated....thanks
 
  #2  
Old 01-27-07, 09:24 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,034
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your wiring should be as follows to tape off the cable box.

COAX from wall to CABLE IN on cable box

Then have COAX go from CABLE OUT to IN on VCR

VCR OUT to TV IN.

Remember to have VCR on channel 3 or 4, which ever it is set too.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-07, 03:03 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
And the vcr/tv switch MUST be set to VCR. If its set to TV, you are bypassing the VCR tuner.

You must also set the channel to be taped using the cable box. The TV and VCR is always set to channel 3 (or 4 in some areas). The cable box does the channel switching.

Say you want to tape Dresden Files on SciFi Monday at 1:00 a.m. You set the timer on the vcr to record channel 3 (see above) for Monday at 1:00 a.m. Then you either make sure to leave the cable box on the SciFi channel or set the cable box timer to switch to SciFi at 1:00 a.m. Monday.

Or get a DVR and make life simple.
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-07, 09:21 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the quick responses....worked out fine
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: