Need hookup advice from experts.

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-23-07, 09:10 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need hookup advice from experts.

I am trying to Hook up a home theatre system. The concerns are
1. I want to use the existing cables and components with purchasing any new ones
2. want to be able to get the best possible Video and audio from existing cables and components
3. want to be able to control all components via any one component (everything via A/V receiver or everything via TV - meaning if i stut off the TV, I do not get audio only from the receiver. this is currently happening when I shut off the TV, the audio from cable is heard via receiver)

I have listed and diagramed a few options. I will appreciate if someone could point out the best option OR sugestions. The diagrams are here
https://home.comcast.net/~pbathia/new_setup.doc

The I have following components
TV - Pioneer PDP-6071HD
DVD player - Sony - dvp-ns325
vcr - Sony -slv-n55
receiver - ONKYO TX-SR603X
Speaker - Bose surround sound AM II
Cable - digital package with DCP1700 box - DCP1700 has only RF in/out and Composite out. comcast is out of HD boxes OR even out of digital boxes with DVI or component outputs.

Cables
2 - components
3 - composits
3 - RF's
1 - Coax audio
1 - Optical audio
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-23-07, 01:57 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This can be tricky and you will have to pick one or the other.

To eliminate your echoing problem, can't you just put your TV on mute? Thats how I currently do mine.

Only way to have sound turn off on your receiver for the TV is to have a set of composites go from "audio out" on the TV, to the "audio in" on your receiver.

Your video and audio set up for the DVD player looks good.

Basically you need to disconnect the RCA (composite) cables receiver and cable box. You should only have a COAX cable going from the cable box to the TV until you get a HD box. You would then have a set of RCA's going from "audio out" on the tv, to the "audio in" on the receiver. This will allow the audio to turn off when television is off.
 
  #3  
Old 02-23-07, 02:58 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mark, won't one of those $500 remotes do it all for premb? They can be programmed like a computer macro.
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-07, 07:17 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bob, yes, if he/she is willing to dish out that much money for a macro capable remote. That would be his only option to control everything from one device.
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-07, 09:40 PM
S
sbd
sbd is offline
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Get a Harmony Remote, they are easy to setup and cost from $89 to $250.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: