RG6 for satellite vs RG6 for Cable TV?


  #1  
Old 04-11-07, 07:40 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
RG6 for satellite vs RG6 for Cable TV?

Is there a difference between RG6 for satellite TV and RG6 for cable TV? I've moved into a house that used to have satellite, but I now have cable TV. I've used the existing RG6 cabling to hook everything up, but was wondering whether there was any issue with using the RG6 that's already laid - some of the RG6 have the words Digital Satellite Cable on the sheath, but as far as I can tell, it's still RG6 and appears to match the normal cable TV RG6 I'm used to. Is it just a marketing gimmick, or is there a true difference? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 04-12-07, 06:10 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,034
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's the same stuff.
 
  #3  
Old 04-12-07, 07:23 PM
fewalt's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: sw VA
Posts: 3,100
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any RG6 will work for cable. They used to use RG-59

RG6 for Satellite should be factory swept tested for carrying higher frequencies.
Yeah, the wording you see is sorta a marketing gimmick(but it prolly was swept tested)
Sorta like vhf/uhf antennas these days. - they now put Digital TV on the antenna box.

fred
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: