S-Video Cable Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-02-07, 04:41 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
S-Video Cable Question

I ran all my cables through the wall from my 50" Pioneer plasma to my Bose Lifestyle media center. When I play a DVD, it displays black and white???
Could my S-Video cable be bad?
TV displays in color with cable box. And the Bose system work perfect on old TV.
Any thoughts?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-02-07, 05:27 AM
B
Member
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Maybe try using a different s-video cable, try the s-video cable with different devices like a different dvd player or a different TV, try looking through TV and dvd player settings menus to check that they are both set to PAL or both set to NTSC.
 
  #3  
Old 05-02-07, 12:51 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 43
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had the same problem recently and discovered that one of the pins was bent in my cable. Try a different cable or look inside either end of the cable to see if all the pins are straight.

Good luck.
 
  #4  
Old 05-03-07, 04:30 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes - I had to replace my s-video cable a couple years ago.
 
  #5  
Old 05-03-07, 06:59 PM
fewalt's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: sw VA
Posts: 3,100
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why in the world are you watching a 50" Plasma using S-Video????


Please get DVI/HDMI/Component cables.
 
  #6  
Old 05-03-07, 11:44 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with the suggestions to try a different s-video cable. However:

In my particular TV I get black and white video if I do not select the proper line input. I have inputs for AV1, AV2, and SVID. It seems the av2 and svid circuits are shared behind the scenes, so if I plug in an svid cable and mistakenly select AV2 on the TV I'll get black and white video. (One would expect it not to work at all.) Just thought I'd throw that out since this seems to be a new setup for you.
 
  #7  
Old 05-15-07, 10:55 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

Thanks!! This was the problem. Straightend the pin out with a pair of tweezers and everything works great!!!!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: