S-Vieo vs. Component Video Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-08-07, 06:51 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 452
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
S-Vieo vs. Component Video Question

I'm trying to hook up a new Sharp HD TV. The unit has one S-Video and three audio/video inputs. First, is the S-Video better than the 2 audio and one video coax? I have a satelite receiver with S output and I can feed that thru a VHS VCR that also has S-video out. Then I have a DVD that has S-video and the 2 audio and one video coax. Which should I use? I also have several other components but they all use the 2 audio/1 video coax output. I guess my big question is what is the advantage to the S-Video?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-08-07, 07:54 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
S-Video is.....WAY outdated.

If you have HD (component) connections, they will offer a WAY better picture the S-Video ever can. You cannot view HD programming through a S-video connection.

Component is jsut for picture, so you can use a RCA cables for your sound, or if you have digital capabilities (optical/analog) use that.


A COAX connection these days offers the same resolution or better the S-video anyways.
 
  #3  
Old 10-08-07, 08:29 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 452
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is all a bit overwellming, so can I start with my first problem?
The TV has component jacks in and the DVD has component jack out. I see how to connect them, no problem. I do want to use my Onkyo surround sound amplifier. Do I split the audio out to go to the TV and the amp? I would like to be able to use the enhanced sound sometimes but not always so it seems like the right way. I did notice that the Sharp Aquous has audio out jacks. Do you know if I feed that to the amp if it will do the surround sound?
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-07, 10:52 PM
Integrator97's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 570
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You probably have digital outputs also, on the sat box and dvd player. these are either Toslink (optical, as in fiber) or Coaxial (RCA connector), sometimes both. Use the digital to the receiver, and analog stereo (red & white RCA connectors) directly to the tv.

In order of preference:
HDMI (includes the audio signal)
DVI (no audio, same as hdmi but no HDCP)
Component RGBHV (rare in home / consumer, except HIGH end)
Component (3 wire)
S-Video
Composite (single yellow RCA)
RF (standard coax)

If you can only use one of your two devices on a type, use the best quality source with the best cable type.
 
  #5  
Old 10-09-07, 08:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: us
Posts: 385
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A few questions;

What satelite service/box are you using?

Do you subscribe to their HD service?

TV model#?

Make sure you use the correct vocabulary when discussing the wires (component = red, blue, green + 2 audio) Composite =yellow + 2 audio. Its a big difference, component is HD capatible and composite isn't.
 
  #6  
Old 10-12-07, 05:30 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 452
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

Somehow I got it working OK. I got component on my DVD. I got composite on one VCR. I got S-video on my Toshiba C Band Sat Rx and S-VHS VCR. I got over the air, 50 channels of analog and HD digital and plain digital.
I guess its time to look for a high end DVD. The one I have says it's 1080p. I think I need a newer HD DVD and will go HDMI or component.
Thanks for the help.
BTW, I using a Sharp 52" LCD. This is real great. I also am using the audio out from the TV to do the surround sound. That also sounds great.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: