Which DVD recorder is compatible to older TV?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-24-07, 04:15 PM
PineCone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 540
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Which DVD recorder is compatible to older TV?

Hi:
I purchased DVD Recorder manufactured Sylvania, however it didn't work with my older TV, no matter how hard I tried to work with the older TV.

What form of DVD Recorder is compatible to the old TV purchased ten-years back?

Thanks for your help in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-24-07, 11:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All of them should be, you just may need an RF modulator and/ or external tuner.
 
  #3  
Old 11-25-07, 03:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you tell us the model numbers of the TV and DVD?

Virtually every TV made in the last 10 years has A/V inputs. (Usually yellow, red and white RCA connectors.) If yours does, simply connect cables with the same colors at both ends to the DVD and TV, then use the Input Select button on the TV's remote to select the Line In or Aux setting.

If there are no AV inputs on the TV, the DVD player must have an RF (standard cable) output to connect to the TV's antenna/cable input. In that case, you'll usually select channel 3 or 4 to watch the DVD.

If the DVD has no RF output, follow Classicsat's advice and get a modulator that takes the RCA outputs from the DVD and converts it to RF for the TV's antenna/cable input.

A VCR could do this, but many times VCRs won't allow DVDs to play properly because of the copy protection on the discs. (They don't want you to record the DVD.)
 
  #4  
Old 11-25-07, 06:50 AM
PineCone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 540
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DVD/VCR Combo for SHARP made in May, 2002

Thanks for the responses. I really appreciate.

I just forgot to mention, this is DVD and VCR combo on which I've been having a problem.

First, there is NO 'red. Only, two of them.

On the back of the TV, ...
SHARP
Model #CMR10019
120Volt AC60Hz
Manufactured: May 2002
USP. S. 828.402
Serial #205806170

Also: all way to the Back of the TV,
ant/cable 75

Thanks for the help
 
  #5  
Old 11-25-07, 08:45 AM
fewalt's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: sw VA
Posts: 3,100
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
See post 2, Radio Shack has them.

fred
 
  #6  
Old 11-25-07, 09:19 AM
PineCone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 540
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response.

This morning, I returned the DVD/VCR combo. purchased from K-mart and purchased other one, RCA DVD/VCR combo. from Wal-Mart. but, this one also does NOT work, either.

The analog is wrong, someone told me.
For this, according to this person, I need to call my IPS, Comcast.

It sounds to me like I need Cable-Box? Or, should I make a trip to Radio Shock to resolve this?

Sorry, I can not explain about techinical terms good, ... but hopefully someone understands the problem I'm having.

Thanks,
 

Last edited by PineCone; 11-25-07 at 09:20 AM. Reason: misspell
  #7  
Old 11-25-07, 04:40 PM
Integrator97's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 570
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, post number 2 will fix you up. You just need to make sure there is a yellow rca output jack, and a red & white set. The yellow is composite or line level video, the red & white is line level stereo audio.

You need a video modulator that has audio inputs. This will convert them to a channel. The cheapest ones just give you a choice of channel 3 or 4, just like old vcr's. Under $20, maybe even under $10. Has nothing to do with your cable.
 
  #8  
Old 11-25-07, 05:40 PM
PineCone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 540
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response.

I looked at the web-site and the following item is OK?

http://www.radioshack.com/sm-rf-modu...i-2103095.html

Could you direct me which Video Modulator is ideal to the 2002 Sharp TV?
Or, do you think I can find Circuit City, 'One-Channel Video Modulator?'

An explanation for the problem I have is,
I can do one of either, ...
When I turn on VCR on, I can record a movie/football game, but I can NOT watch TV, because picture on TV does NOT show up.

Thanks,
 
  #9  
Old 11-25-07, 08:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Most RF modulators will do.

How are you sure the recorder is recording?

Are you sure the TV is working?
 
  #10  
Old 11-26-07, 01:55 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
dropship-dvd

Advertising is not allowed.
 

Last edited by Rick Johnston; 11-26-07 at 04:39 AM. Reason: Spam.
  #11  
Old 12-02-07, 09:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: (near) Boise, ID
Posts: 442
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by PineCone View Post
First, there is NO 'red. Only, two of them.
Are you talking about the RCA input jacks? Are they white and yellow? If so, it is a mono instead of stereo connection. You can get some sort of "Y" adapter and plug the red and white cables into the adapter, then plug the adapter into the white jack. The yellow plug doesn't need an adapter. You could also just plug in one of the red or white cables, but you would only get either the left or right audio unless you could set your DVD player's audio to mono.
 
  #12  
Old 12-03-07, 04:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Using a Y cable on a stereo output is not a good idea. At best it can compromise the sound quality. At worst it can damage the device's outputs.

The correct way to combine stereo signals to mono is to use a stereo-to-mono converter like this one.
 
  #13  
Old 12-04-07, 10:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK , this is a confusing piece of work.

A few things I need to know first to make sure I give you a correct answer:

1.What kind of outputs are on the back of the DVD/VCR unit?
make sure you answer with out puts and not inputs(very important)

2. What kind of inputs are on the DVD/VCR combo?

3. It sounds as if you are running your cable directly into the tv? Is this using the coaxial cable? (This is 1 single cable that is usually black with a silver or gold screw on connector)

4.You will need to refer to the manual for the DVD COMBO UNIT for this question:
Can both the DVD and the VCR can be displayed using only output from the unit. (most of the combo players I have been around don't do this, they need to have 2 separate outputs, one for each part of the unit, connected to the display.)


------------------------------------------
using what has been given so far:
What you will need:

A RF modulator - you need to make sure it has coaxil output and a matching input from the combo unit's output.

If you can get a RF modulator that allow multiple inputs to be connected to it then that would be great!

You may or may not need a input selector (this allows you to connect more then one device up to it and then sends 1 signal out.


---------------------------------------------

Path of connection:

Note:
I am using the radioshack Model: 15-2526 for this install. go to radioshack.com and punch in that model number and it will pull it up. $24.99
(This is assuming that the player has a s-vid out for the dvd player)


1. Unplug your cable wire that goes to the TV. (The one coming out of the wall and goes directly to the TV or to the cable box)
2. Plug that cable you unplugged from the TV to the RF modulator, in the antenna IN.
3. Plug the s-vid OUTPUT from the combo-unit and plug it in to the RF modulator S-vid INPUT.
4. Plug the audio OUTPUT (red/white) from the combo-unit and plug it in to the RF modulator audio INPUT .
5. Plug the antenna output from the RF modulator to the ANT IN on the TV.

You should be good to go, unless the connectors are different. Goodluck!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: