W
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with surround sound

Hi,

I am new to the home theater world. Here is what I have:

*Newer model Sony Projection Big Screen
*small black comcast box
*Tivo
*Phillips home theater with 2 front, 2 rear, 1 center channel, 1 sub woofer.

So far, I have the sub, center channel, and 1 rear speaker hooked up. I couldn't wait and I turned it on to make sure I had it hooked up right, and I noticed that the rear speaker does not play when I am watching tv. With a DVD, it does play. Is there something obvious that I am doing wrong? Here is how I have the connections:

1. Coax out of the wall into the cable box
2. RCA from cable box to tivo
3. RCA from tivo to "TV IN"
3. RCA from XBOX to "TV IN"
4. RCA from "TV OUT" to home theater.

Thanks for your help.

Old 12-21-07, 02:34 PM
S
Try connecting the audio from the cable box or tivo directly to the home theater system with RCA cables. If you have the option of a digital connection between the two, use it instead. Also, not all TV shows or stations are broadcast in surround sound. There may be a setting that will play audio on all the speaker if you don't have a surround sound source. I only run 2 speakers; someone else may have better advice for you. I wouldn't run the unit without all the speakers connected, but that may not matter.

Old 12-21-07, 07:52 PM
R
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It appears that you don't use the internal TV speakers, and you shouldn't if you have a surround system.

Asking the TV to control the audio won't sound as good as connecting it directly to the surround receiver ("SR"). With the exception of the incoming cable and HDMI, video and audio are two completely different signals. All of the video sources should be routed to the TV, while all of the audio sources should be routed to your SR.

Your description of the system is perfect for the video signals and seems to work well for you. Hopefully the SR has multiple inputs on the back panel such as TV, VCR, Aux, and DVD...