Cable input to TV broke.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-22-08, 06:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cable input to TV broke.

I know this is a really stupid question but I am going to ask it anyway. I dont want to have this TV repaired if I can avoid it. I have all kinds of inputs on the back such as digital tv, video inputs, etc. Is there anything I can buy to convert the cable into a different format so I can use another input sorce.
Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-22-08, 09:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 168
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry I'm not sure I understand you. What do you mean by "broke" ? Did the RF connector come loose, or do you mean you no longer receive signal from your RCA input jacks ?
If the latest is the case, you can simply connect to another input source if you have it. Please explain more so I can help you better.
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-08, 10:16 PM
fewalt's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: sw VA
Posts: 3,100
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can try this.
Got an old vcr laying around. - cable into vcr. Composite cables, yellow, red, white from vcr to tv inputs.
Use a video channel on the tv. The vcr may have to be set to line 1.

fred,
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-08, 06:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 272
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I remember correctly, there's a Radio Shack within 5 miles of 95% of the US population.

I'd go there and look for a converter box that will take your cable in and output the highest quality signal your TV will accept.

From worst to best:
Composite (the yellow RCA plug)
S-Video (the round plug with the pins)
Component (Red, Green, Blue RCA plugs bundled together)
HDMI (the flat square plug - but you likely won't be able to convert the analog cable to HDMI without a new digital cable box)

Good luck,
Tom
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-08, 12:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by moonlite View Post
Sorry I'm not sure I understand you. What do you mean by "broke" ? Did the RF connector come loose, or do you mean you no longer receive signal from your RCA input jacks ?
If the latest is the case, you can simply connect to another input source if you have it. Please explain more so I can help you better.
Where you plug the cable into the TV. That broke inside the TV and will need repaired. I was looking for a cheap solution to get cable to the TV without connecting directly to the cable input Jack. I was hoping there was a way to connect using the video or digital input jacks. I knew I shouldnt have thrown away my last VCR but if that is the only way I could get my hands on a cheap one somewhere.
 
  #6  
Old 01-23-08, 05:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A converter box is pretty cheap - available just about anywhere.
 
  #7  
Old 01-23-08, 09:58 PM
Integrator97's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 570
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Get a nice dvd recorder to serve as your tuner also. Kind of a bonus.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: