Antenna Amplifier


  #1  
Old 05-06-08, 07:55 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Antenna Amplifier

I'm setting up a HDTV Digital Antenna. I have a long run of cable so I need a amplifier but don't know what kind or how powerful. The longest cable is around 100ft long and I'm running 4-5 tvs on it. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 05-06-08, 09:45 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,295
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Why do you believe that you will need an amplifier? If you are far from the station antennas, it will give the signal a boost, but so will a decent antenna.

I currently have a UHF halo in the attic which pulls in HDTV from stations up to about 50 miles away. I do sit in a fairly high area. I am feeding three TV's with splitters and the longest run is about 70 feet with no problem.
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-08, 01:03 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well right now I have 2 tvs set up with it TV1(25ft cable) works fine TV2(70ft cable) doesn't work so well. Everything tested working so it must need a amplifier.
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-08, 03:28 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,233
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Channel Master makes an antenna preamp that mounts on the antenna and is powered by the coax so you don't have to run power to the roof.
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-08, 04:29 PM
fewalt's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: sw VA
Posts: 3,100
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Rick Johnston View Post
Channel Master makes an antenna preamp that mounts on the antenna and is powered by the coax so you don't have to run power to the roof.
CM 7777 works for me!

fred
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: