Tv Splitters

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-21-08, 12:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tv Splitters

I am going to connect 2 digital converters, TV and VCR.
I need a TV splitter with two IN and one OUT connection. But I can't find any.
Can I reverse the connections on a 2-way splitter and use the two OUT connections as IN and the IN connection as an OUT ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-08, 02:08 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,831
Received 36 Votes on 29 Posts
What you need is an A-B splitter like the kind that is used to switch between, for instance, a game console and the cable tv like this:

http://www.summitsource.com/ab-switc...lk-p-6655.html
http://www.cablestogo.com/product.as...2405&sku=41015
http://www.icables.com/2-way-f-pin-c...ton-75-75.html
http://www.digitlook.com/RCA-Deluxe-...077-11458.html
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-08, 05:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Splitters can work as combiners, but it won't work with your setup. You can't mix two broadband feeds -- the channels will interfere with each other.

Can you run the VCR into an A/V input?
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-08, 01:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
RICK; I wasn't going to use two feeds at the same time. I wanted to have two inputs into the splitter: the VCR and the converter box.The OUT would go to the TV. Neither the converter box or the VCR would be on at the same time. This would just save me the trouble of disconnecting and reconnecting cables.

TOW GUY: The AB switch at the Summit is what I need.

But let me ask this of both of you: If I connect the antenna to the OUT of the splitter and the TV to the IN, would it work?
 
  #5  
Old 08-22-08, 01:15 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,831
Received 36 Votes on 29 Posts
Ummm, I think so. As far as I know the internals are just a simple switch.
 
  #6  
Old 08-22-08, 07:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It doesn't matter if the VCR is powered off -- it still passes a signal through the RF ports that will interfere with the converter box. It's a moot point, though, since you've already decided to go with the AB switch. (Good idea!)

Most splitters can be used as combiners since they will pass signal in both directions, so if the TV is connected to the "In" and the VCR to the "out" it should work.

Still, you can avoid installing the switch by using the TV's AV inputs for one of the devices. (Provided the TV has AV inputs.) Use the TV's remote to switch inputs between cable & line in.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: