Question about digital cable box

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-08-08, 12:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question about digital cable box

I had until friday, basic cable from Brighthouse. I have them to add the digital and HD channels and love it. My question is, can I buy my own box from Ebay and install it on my bedroom TV myself? My cable co. said not. Them may have thought I meant from them. I didn't think about that til later.
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-08-08, 04:07 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your cable provider has to activate the box in order for it to work. It may work for a day or two, but when the company does it's automatic "refresh" and see's this box is not authorized, they will disable it. Almost ALL cable boxes you find on Ebay are actually owned by their respective cable provider, and the previous owner did not turn them in.

I speak from experience.. (cough, cough).
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-08, 04:11 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 504
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Using Comcast as a guide, we get 1 free box or cable card. Everything after that is $5/month.
Before the digital switch, you could have as many tvs as you wanted. They turned it into another cash cow.
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-08, 04:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I didn't know . Thanks for the info. $8 a month doesn't seem that bad now.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: