Getting rid of outside antennae


  #1  
Old 04-02-09, 02:37 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Florida
Posts: 295
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Talking Getting rid of outside antennae

I want to get rid of the tv antennae on the outside of my house. We're using cable now and we don't need it. Can I just cut the wire from the antennae to the house or is there some kind of electricity in there where it wouldn't be a good idea?
Thanks for your help.
 
  #2  
Old 04-02-09, 04:51 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,233
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If there's an amplifier or rotor on it you'll need to disconnect it from everything first, including any power. If not, an antenna cable doesn't carry any power.
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-09, 11:20 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Florida
Posts: 295
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Any idea where this amplifier might be? Would it be in the wall? Or attached to something inside the house?
 
  #4  
Old 04-02-09, 02:33 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It may not have an amplifier.Some people use one to improve the signal in weak reception areas.If your located close or in town , it most likely does not have one.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: