Mounting a tv mount into brick?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-14-09, 07:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mounting a tv mount into brick?

Hi,

I've got a TV I want to mount outside on a brick wall but don't really know if its feasible since the mount was designed to mount to a stud. Obviously I would need different screws but can brick hold the 80 pounds of the tv and how should it be mounted?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-14-09, 08:38 PM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,130
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mounting a tv mount into brick?

Is it a real brick veneer (3-4" thick) or just "phoney" brick (1/2" thick)?
 
  #3  
Old 04-14-09, 08:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Concretemasonry View Post
Is it a real brick veneer (3-4" thick) or just "phoney" brick (1/2" thick)?
Real Brick no phony stuff
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-09, 05:23 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would get a sufficient size concrete anchor. Don't use Tapcons, but the type that have a sleeve that expands or wedges.

This is not a fireplace, is it? I have a pet peeve about people mounting their TV's above fireplaces. Not only could it get damaged from the potential heat, dirty from soot, it just looks tacky and takes away the look of a nice fireplace.
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-09, 06:25 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I would be very careful with that Mark. A lot of brick will split if you use wedge type anchors.

I would consider toggle bolts myself. Obviously one has to be very cautious when drilling.
 
  #6  
Old 04-15-09, 07:41 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good call Nap, about the wedges. They work good in concrete, but brick would probably not hold up like you said.

Toggle bolts are good, but poster didn't mention what this brick is, i.e. brick wall with multiple courses of brick, etc. That would be the way to go if this is just a brick facia with 1 brick row.
 
  #7  
Old 04-15-09, 08:47 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
he did say this is full brick and it is outside (a tv outside?) so he should have a gap between the brick and the wall.

Hopefully concretemasonry will step back in and toss some info in on this. He would have the best idea as to how the wall most likely will be structured.
 
  #8  
Old 04-26-09, 07:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by nap View Post
he did say this is full brick and it is outside (a tv outside?) so he should have a gap between the brick and the wall.

Hopefully concretemasonry will step back in and toss some info in on this. He would have the best idea as to how the wall most likely will be structured.
To answer some of your questions, its on a wall not a fireplace and it is solid brick, one layer and since the other side is a wall to the bedroom, I would have to be cautious.

So toggle bolts is the way to go?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: