Connection responsibilities for Dish Network

Old 07-15-09, 09:13 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Connection responsibilities for Dish Network

I have run two RG6Quad cables and two Cat 5E to four rooms. The video cables are terminated in the rooms but are not in the distribution room. I've also provided a 1" PVC pipe with pull line from the distribution room to the North end of the home where the Dish will have to be. What I want to know is what I am supposed to have done in the distribution room prior to the Dish Network installers arrival? Do I just leave the RG6Q cables labeled and bare? Or, are they supposed to be already F connector crimped and possibly on some sort of routing board? I'm new to structural wiring so please keep answers as close to layman as possible.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-16-09, 01:49 AM
R
If you used hex crimp RG connectors for the Dish receiver cables the installers will probably hack them off and replace them with round compression connectors. (They carry the high frequency signals better than hex crimps.) Let them do the terminations in your distribution room too. They'll also want a phone drop at the location of each receiver.

They'll run the RG cable(s) from the dish through the exterior wall to the receiver(s). If you want to be sure it's a clean, weathertight penetration, you might consider drilling your own and adding a box to the exterior. Watch them when they route that cable. They guys who did mine wanted to lay the cable in the gutter.

Old 07-16-09, 10:23 AM
M
Lucky me