No power flat panel TV

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-16-10, 06:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 515
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No power flat panel TV

Rroscan 19LA25Q, all of a sudden no power TV will not come on and indicator light does not come on. Outlet is live. I brought power supply to shop for testing and it tested OK so issue is with TV. Is there any type of fuse or reset button in these that a power surge may have tripped or should I consider it junk?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-16-10, 07:19 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,972
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Never heard of that brand. If it is not under warranty then I would crack it open and see if you can find a fuse. If not, its junk.
 
  #3  
Old 09-17-10, 04:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 515
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I think Proscan is a big box brand not sure which one. Thanks I will open her up and take a look.
 
  #4  
Old 09-17-10, 05:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Many TVs will automatically reset after being unplugged for 24 hours.

First, though, if it has a computer-style power cable, make sure it is fully seated in the TV's connector. Even if it looks like it's plugged in, it could still not be making a good connection.
 
  #5  
Old 09-17-10, 07:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I brought power supply to shop for testing and it tested OK
And how did they test it? Did they just check the voltage with a DVM? If so it could still be bad. It could be it is not working under load. Is this a regular wall wart, DC or AC, what voltage. I'd try a different power supply. First though I'd plug the TV in a different known good receptacle.
 
  #6  
Old 09-17-10, 03:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
First though ...
Hey! No fair! My "first though" was first!

I never stopped to think that the TV could be powered from a wall wart. The manufacturer name is actually ProScan, and it isn't a wall-wart. It is an outboard power supply with two cables -- one to the AC recep and one to the TV.

Those low-voltage connections are also likely to fail if the small connector that plugs into the TV has been subjected to any stress. Especially if it was on a 90-degree angle.

A quick search revealed that it is a common problem in those TVs. Replacing the power supply solves the problem.
 
  #7  
Old 09-17-10, 03:43 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I remember selling ProScan TV's when i worked at Circuit City in the late 90's, though this response doesn't do much to help you out.
 
  #8  
Old 09-17-10, 08:01 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,972
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Originally Posted by smallengineguy View Post
Thanks, I think Proscan is a big box brand not sure which one. Thanks I will open her up and take a look.
Ohh...Proscan! sure I have seen them. Your first post says "Rroscan" Should have known it was a typo with the double R
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: