50 inch Phillips TV DLP at the repairman ready to be fixed. Can I do it myself?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-10, 05:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Belton, Mo
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
50 inch Phillips TV DLP at the repairman ready to be fixed. Can I do it myself?

I recently took my Phillips 50 inch TV DLP into the repairman to get a free estimate. Last year during a storm there was a power surge and the tv went out. Turns on for a minute, then goes off and has a red light at the power button in the front. Anyway, the repairman called me and said it needs a fan and a new bulb. He said total cost would be 240.00 dollars. I was wondering before I let him do it, is it worth the money. Can I find someone else that would do it cheaper? Can i fix this myself? Any input would be appreciated. thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-10, 05:38 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would say that was a good deal if he warranties his work .
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-10, 11:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Belton, Mo
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the response. i went and picked up the tv due to right now with christmas i cant get it done. i was also thinking about fixing it myself. i called another technician i found on craigslist. he seemed to think it is an easy fix of installing a new bulb, (not generic he said). he wanted the model number to get me a quote also. the model number in case you need it is 50pl9126d/37. if in fact i can do it myself, which is the name of this website, lol. where would i get the info on that. i understand also about there might still be electric current in the tv even when it is not plugged in. could you elaborate on that please? i appreciate any input again. thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-10, 06:31 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Depending on your skills,you can do it yourself.The original replacement lamp is about $170 .Thats without the cage assymbly.Just leave the tv unpluged overnight to get rid of any electric charge.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: