Coaxial cable ... splitting the signal.... HELP!


  #1  
Old 07-28-12, 12:20 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Coaxial cable ... splitting the signal.... HELP!

I am rewiring my house this coming Monday, and I am in need of desperate HELP!

Here are my concerns:

1. Do I need an amplifier?
2. Should I use 3 to 4 2-Way Splitters instead of 1 6-Way Splitter?
3. If I use 1 6-Way splitter with 1 port not in use is that bad?
4. Is my proposed wiring diagram the correct and most efficient way to wire the house with the least signal loss?
5. Should the longer cable lengths be broken up IE: two 50-foot cables linked together?

*Also I will be using the compression tool, appropriate connectors, and a 500 ft. spool of RG-6 Quad Shield Coax Cable.

THINGS TO BE CONNECTED: 1 Cable Modem / 3 HDTV's / 2 Standard Defintion TV's


Here is a picture of how I am thinking of wiring the house...


Name:  diag.jpg
Views: 5201
Size:  18.3 KB



Thanks for the help....
 
  #2  
Old 07-30-12, 06:01 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,630
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
I would hook it up the way you proposed - I don't like to see the PC connection split more than once so I use a two way splitter with one leg going to the PC and one going to another splitter for all of the TVs, as you have done. You may need an amplified but you can do all this first and see how it works before you go get one.

No, don't put unnecessary junctions in your cables.
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-12, 06:34 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Any unused ports should have a termination resistor screwed on. Basically just a cap with a resistor inside it...you get them where you got the other supplies.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: