Why Can't I View 1080P on my 1080P TV?


  #1  
Old 11-07-12, 06:48 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 268
Received 5 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Why Can't I View 1080P on my 1080P TV?

I bought my first flat panel HD TV recently and mounted it on the wall yesterday. I was excited to watch TV in HD. I use AT&T Uverse for my service. A salesman at AT&T said my receiver will know when I have an HD TV attached and will automatically adjust (there's a little light on the receiver that lights up "HD"). After hooking everything up, I wasn't getting HD. I went into the setup of my Uverse through the remote and found where I can adjust the Aspect ratio under System Options. The choices are *4:3 standard definition *Widescreen standard definition *720p on high-definition screens *1080i on high-definition screens. When I choose one of the high definition settings, displayed is "Your TV may not be able to display 1080i on high-definition screens..." Any choice I make above standard cuts off a significant part of the picture left and right. Why can't I make this work? Does it have anything to do with my TV being 1080p and not 1080i? Any help would be appreciated. My TV didn't come with much of an instruction book (unless I misplaced it in all my excitement).
 
  #2  
Old 11-07-12, 07:16 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 268
Received 5 Upvotes on 3 Posts
One Other Question

I have coax coming from my Uverse receiver to the TV. Should I use an HDMI cable/wiring instead? Without getting too technical (I tried to figure out the difference/benefit by google, but some people get waaaaaay too technical). I just want to know if I'll get a better signal with the HDMI wiring.
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-12, 07:16 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,220
Received 1,289 Upvotes on 1,227 Posts
How do you have the TV hooked up to the receiver?
 
  #4  
Old 11-07-12, 07:35 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 268
Received 5 Upvotes on 3 Posts
I used coax. I just tried to look at the rating/numbers, but I can't get to it without draggin out a ladder. It's the same coax the Uverse technician used (heavy)
 
  #5  
Old 11-07-12, 07:41 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 268
Received 5 Upvotes on 3 Posts
RG 6 Tri Shield AWG 18 AWG 75 OHM
 
  #6  
Old 11-07-12, 07:41 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Should I use an HDMI cable/wiring instead?
Yes you need to hook up HDMI . You will probably only get 1080i from TV viewing.

1080p you would get from say a blueray player and such.
 
  #7  
Old 11-07-12, 07:47 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 268
Received 5 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Thank you, I'll give that a try.
 
  #8  
Old 11-07-12, 10:30 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 268
Received 5 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Much better...I now have a sharp, full-size picture. Made me forget about the election for about 5 minutes.
 
  #9  
Old 11-08-12, 07:18 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ha - i had the same question... thx
 
  #10  
Old 11-09-12, 03:54 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,070
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
We knew that, StyleHopper. We're very intuitive here. Your next stop is the plumbing forum. Your bathroom faucet is about to start to develop a slow drip.

Welcome to the forums.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: