Trash Find: Vizio VL370M

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-07-13, 05:43 PM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 414
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Trash Find: Vizio VL370M

Today I found another LCD Flat Panel TV in the trash
The TV is a Vizio VL370M Of course it does not work but the screen is intact and in excellent condition, The frame is also in excellent condition.

When I plugged it in the Vizio symbol lights up Yellow and when I attempt to power on the TV the Vizio symbol will turn white and the screen will light up and then nothing (No Picture or sound or menus) The TV will stay on in that state until either unplugged or I press the power button again

I have removed the back of the set as I was told on another forum that the main board is bad. I am just double checking with this forum before I order the Main Board

The numbers on the main board are:

Printed on a sticker
3637-0552-0150(5E)
0KM4049AQ14155E
CSD:3637-0552-0395

Written on the board in white text
0171-2271-2855

All of the boards I saw look the same but I take it I have to order this exact model of board with the same numbers on it for it to work correctly?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-07-13, 05:52 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,892
Received 25 Votes on 23 Posts
There is a reset procedure for vizio tv's. Look it up. You need to hold the power button for like a minute of something.

Mine had this issue but I have apps and it was a crash issue. Rest and it worked fine after.

Main board bad? How much? Best doing a component level repair IMO.. Would need board schematic though...

Manual.

http://store.vizio.com/documents/dow.../UM_VL370M.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 06-07-13, 05:56 PM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 414
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The board is about $60 and I can't do a component repair
1. I suck at soldering
2. I Can't find a schematic of the board
 
  #4  
Old 06-07-13, 06:22 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,892
Received 25 Votes on 23 Posts
Main board? Is there not a video board also? You can end up just parts changing.

Dont know if its like a computer,,, The inverter may be bad?????

Hook up a computer to it and see if you can get an rgb singnal to it to rule out the screen...
 
  #5  
Old 06-08-13, 05:15 AM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 414
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The inverter is part of the power supply board and the backlights will come on just no picture or menus on the screen. So the inverter and backlights are good.

The TV will also respond to a remote control so the remote sensor board is good.

That leaves the T-Con (Or LCD Controller) and the main board

I also tried feeding a signal to it and still nothing (I can't even change the inputs)
 
  #6  
Old 08-14-13, 07:56 AM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 414
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Still trying to fix this Vizio
I replaced every PC board (Except the IR board as I can confirm that it is good as the TV will turn on with a remote)

I now get sound but still no picture
Is there a way to rule out a defective LCD Panel?

The boards are all connected and all of the interconnect cables are good

PWR/Inverter Board -> Main Board -> T-Con/LCD Controller -> LCD Panel
-IR Board
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: