Home theater subwoofer/amplifier wiring help

Old 08-20-13, 11:39 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Home theater subwoofer/amplifier wiring help

I have a WahlDorf Home Theater System WD-305HT 5.1 Multi-Channel with a Harman Kardon AVR 700 5.1 Channel Audio / Video Receiver ... my receiver has a coax plug for the subwoofer and my subwoofer just has those spring connectors you put the stranded wire through. I'm not sure how to go about hooking it up? Should I just wire it as a 5 channel and hook my L & R speaker outs to the sub then out to my speakers off the sub?

Will it be the same as hooking it up to the sub port??

Anything will help I'm very new to this thanks!!

Last edited by PJmax; 08-20-13 at 04:38 PM. Reason: reformatted text
Sponsored Links
Old 08-20-13, 04:47 PM
Group Moderator
Received 510 Votes on 480 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I reformatted your text as it was broken and hard to read.

I went to Wahldorf's site as I wasn't familiar with those speakers. It appears that they are all passive speakers. That means they need to be connected to an amplifier(s).

The sub woofer requires a lot of power and a larger amplifier that is not usually included inside the A/V sound receiver. In your case you have an RCA output on your A/V processor for the sub woofer that would be need to be connected to a separate amplifier.

You'll need to pick up a small single channel sub woofer amplifier to run your sub.

Old 08-21-13, 08:08 AM
ya thanks i tried to Get it neat.....as you couldnt tell.. lol thanks for your response i was thinking of that but i have direct tv and im hoping im not going to have to use a blue ray player to run my speakers.

the wiring for my speakers for a 5 channel amp is and i qouat from the manual to wire subwoofer..
R + / - to subwoofer input right
L +/- to subwoofer input left

then the subwoofer must be passive also.. it reads

Subwoofer output Rright + / - to Right speaker + / -
Subwoofer output Left + / - to Left speaker + / -