How to hook up a Sony 5:1 system to output my AT&T Cable Box, and Xbox?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-02-14, 12:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation How to hook up a Sony 5:1 system to output my AT&T Cable Box, and Xbox?

Hi! I recently added a Sony DAV TZ-140 for my room, and the only thing I can get to output is from the built-in DVD and CD player.

My Cable Box, Xbox, and TV all have Optical inputs, and the TV and output, the the Reciever sadly only HDMI and Component.

How would I be able to stream the sounds of the Cable Box, and the Xbox to my 5:1 system?

Thank you!

Here are links to images of the peripherals. Thank you!

Sony DAV TZ-140 - Imgur
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-02-14, 12:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,177
Received 375 Votes on 352 Posts
You don't necessarily need digital connections to get the audio from your devices to your receiver.. Analog audio still sounds pretty good but you won't have any 5.1 seperation.

Your biggest problem there is you only have one set of aux inputs. That means you'd need a switch box or you would have to plug in the audio from the device you were using.

The TV outputs audio on the back with a 1/8" (3.5mm) stereo plug. You can get a cable to go from that to two RCA plugs to connect to your receiver.

The game box has an A/V cable that should have RCA plugs on it.

Your cable box already has RCA connections on it for audio.
 
  #3  
Old 02-02-14, 01:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm a bit confused on the 5:1 seperation thing, but via the Stereo out on my TV, I presume that since my cable box, and Xbox are connected to my TV which will use the TV's built in speakers by default, using the audio out line on my TV and plugging it into my reciever via a Component to 1/8 Stereo converter, it will output both the Cable Box and the Xbox correctly? In a 5:1 configuration?
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-14, 01:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,177
Received 375 Votes on 352 Posts
No.... it will output an analog audio signal on the 1/8" stereo jack.
There is no output on the TV that would support surround sound. (5.1)
 
  #5  
Old 02-02-14, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So what way would enable me to have 5:1 audio?
 
  #6  
Old 02-02-14, 06:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you cannot connect your devices with optical or a HDMI cable, you will not get true 5.1 surround sound. You can hookup left/right and use the pro logic, neo or other simulated surround processors. They do not sound anywhere near as good. Basically, you need a new receiver.
 

Last edited by Shadeladie; 02-02-14 at 06:34 PM. Reason: Link removed. Advertising not allowed.
  #7  
Old 02-03-14, 11:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I found out I can connect my cable box via the component; pretty obvious. As most of you said, there is no way the sound will be since I'm using component. You were all somewhat wrong, as I'm still getting great surround coming from my component. It may not be true surround, but I can bear with it.

Now here's my real question. Is there a way to output HDMI instead of the component? Since my reciever doesn't have HDMI in, I can use HDMI.

Second question is are there other methods? Is there an optical audio to standard component converter? Is there a HD/AV cable to Standard Component converter?

To recap: My cable box plays Surround audio through component somehow. Since I have a HDTV, and I'd rather have HD video, is there a way to have component audio, and HDMI video?

Any help is appreciated. Thank you.
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-14, 12:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: India
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just buy optical to audio convertor in your locality the try for that
 
  #9  
Old 02-04-14, 04:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'd still buy a new receiver. There are so many new codecs, especially with a blu ray system if you get own. Do something nice for yourself. Get a new receiver and bluray player. You'll love it! Yamaha receivers and nice. Stay away from samsung blu ray.
 
  #10  
Old 02-04-14, 05:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You could try the component video outputs. This will at least allow you to get the audio from the component audio outputs. Since it's only the cable box you may not even notice a difference in picture quality.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: