Dish Network

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-08-14, 09:15 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dish Network

Customer wants rough-in for Dish network. I've done Directv and Comcast many times, but I've never even seen a Dish rough-in. What do I need?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-08-14, 10:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,550
Received 508 Votes on 478 Posts
As far as wiring...... it requires two RG6-quadshield cables..... should be the same as Direct.
 
  #3  
Old 05-08-14, 10:46 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! And, the newer Directv units only use 1 coax and a powered splitter thing.
 
  #4  
Old 05-08-14, 10:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,550
Received 508 Votes on 478 Posts
You're right. Some systems use a single coax. I just run two automatically when I rough for them.
 
  #5  
Old 05-09-14, 05:58 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Directv's new SWM system allows up to eight TUNERS to run off a single coax from a SWM LNB. That is not eight BOXES or eight ROOMS, but eight TUNERS. The Genie has five tuners in one box fed off one coax. An HR24 DVR has two tuners. While this is fine for some people, if you have a large house/large family and/or you become a timeshifting junkie like I am (I really don't watch ANYTHING live anymore, because I can't stand commercials ), eight tuner slots run out real quick. I have a Genie, two HR24's, and an H24 (total of 10 tuners), and that's only four rooms.

Directv markets the Genie and C25 RVU clients as a 'whole home' solution, but its limitations become readily apparent (just like with Dish's VIP Duo DVRs) when you have 4 people wanting to watch different things, and then recording timers start kicking in, creating live view conflicts where you have to choose between watching what's recording or canceling it (and you have the same issue with the Hopper/Joey system).. The way around the eight tuner cap is to install a SWM-16 switch, which requires four cables between the dish and the switch.

Depending on the package and equipment the customer wants, there are Dish dishes (lol) that require three or four cables from the dish to the inside switch as well. So it's always best to run FOUR cables from the wiring closet to the dish location. Cable is cheap, and this will accommodate the customer potentially switching packages or providers in the future without having to still have their house wrapped with coax.. You only need one coax from each outlet location to the closet though.

And there's no reason to run quad-shield unless the run in question is greater than 150' (or there happens to be a cyclotron or radio broadcast studio in the house ). Plain old $25-a-spool RG-6 CCS is fine. That's exactly what every provider's installers use and it works just fine. I've installed thousands of feet of it and never had issues.
 

Last edited by JerseyMatt; 05-09-14 at 06:18 AM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: