Connecting additional cable line

Old 06-29-14, 11:13 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connecting additional cable line

I apologize in advance for being too wordy, but this is my first time to post to a forum, and I’m trying to provide all relevant info for getting my questions answered. I have already done a lot of forum reading to get a basic understanding of how the connections work, but haven’t found a scenario to match our specific set up. I also realize that what I THINK I understand as stated below, may not be correct.

Here’s the current configuration:
There is a small flat rectangular unit with cables connected to it. This unit has 2 posts/plugs pointed toward where the cable comes into the house out of the floor. The cable entering the house is attached to the plug marked “RF-PWR TO AMP”. Next to that plug, on the same side of the unit, is another plug marked “PWR IN”, and the cable attached there connects to a one-post box plugged into the electrical outlet. Directly across from the first post, on the opposite side of the unit, is a plug marked “RF TV 5-1000 MHz”, and the cable attached there runs into the DVR cable box unit. Then our TV is connected to the DVR cable box.

Question:
Is that rectangular unit an “amplifier”? I know that the cable company DID install one initially to boost signal for improved reception on our second floor. It doesn’t seem to me that it is splitting anything, as there is just the main supply feed going to the unit, and then just one cable continuing to the cable box for one TV – i.e., no splits to multiple TV’s.