HK Soundsticks ii (computer speakers) needs new volume control

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-26-14, 07:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HK Soundsticks ii (computer speakers) needs new volume control

Hi,

The volume control pot located on the subwoofer has gone bad and it has to be replaced. I need to get a spec for it. A schematic and parts list would be nice, too.

Thanks, Lar
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-26-14, 09:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,666
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
That is a proprietary speaker system and I doubt you'd locate a schematic or a parts list for it.
HK recommends bringing it to an authorized service center.

To service it yourself you would need to open the unit and visually ID the volume control. The resistance value should be stamped on the back of it.
 
  #3  
Old 10-26-14, 10:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Just wondering about the schematic, aren't all electronic devices "proprietary" or is this a different situation?

If I am lucky, maybe someone has one opened up already and can spec the pot. I have seen from pics of the boards on the net, that the pot says "7D2" or "702" on it. I hope in reality, the one in mine will say more on the sides. I hope that the attached pics are at all revealing. Thanks.
 
Attached Images   

Last edited by Larbo; 10-26-14 at 10:18 AM.
  #4  
Old 10-26-14, 10:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,666
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
That could be a production code or a resistance value.

Any control can be replaced/matched by visual inspection and measure resistance value.


That control only affects the sub bass level...... not overall system volume.
 
  #5  
Old 10-26-14, 11:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That control only affects the sub bass level...... not overall system volume.
True, but its not working right does affect all the speakers. Is that just the way the circuit works?
 
  #6  
Old 10-26-14, 12:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,666
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
Not quite sure what you are asking.

That control should not affect the satellite speakers only the bass speaker.
There are touchpads on one of the satellite speakers that adjusts total system level.
 
  #7  
Old 10-26-14, 01:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It just does. The stem is really loose and if I jiggle it, all speakers are affected. Right channel is out completely, left is at a whisper. If I push it straight in (and even rotate it while in), the whole system works fine. Go figure. Maybe the metal outer case on the pot is loose?
 
  #8  
Old 10-26-14, 01:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,666
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
Or maybe there is an intermittent connection on the board that moving the volume control affects.
 
  #9  
Old 10-26-14, 01:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The pot's stem is really loose, though. I knew is was going to be trouble the first time I touched it. At this point, I need to dig into it. Thanks a lot!
 
  #10  
Old 10-26-14, 02:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,666
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
Take a close up picture of the bottom side of the board near the control.
 
  #11  
Old 10-26-14, 03:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That will require disassembling the sub and that may have to wait a few days. OK? Thanks
 
  #12  
Old 10-26-14, 04:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,666
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
Once we know how many pins it is we can look for a replacement.
 
  #13  
Old 10-26-14, 05:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I love it when there's a plan!!
 
  #14  
Old 10-26-14, 07:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK. No patience... guilty! Here are the relevant pics. Looks like 2K ohms, 3 terminals? It also has a half-moon shaft. I guess that attachment tabs matter, too, or are they all the same in that way?

Name:  IMG_1255.sm.jpg
Views: 1305
Size:  25.4 KBName:  IMG_1262sm.jpg
Views: 1266
Size:  36.0 KB
 
  #15  
Old 10-27-14, 08:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I thought that this pic may help, too. In poking around the net, this may be a Taiwan Alpha pot. They use green plastic but I could not find this specific design anywhere (with my limited knowledge as a primary restraint).

Name:  IMG_1253SM.jpg
Views: 1495
Size:  47.3 KB
 

Last edited by Larbo; 10-27-14 at 09:43 AM.
  #16  
Old 10-28-14, 12:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,666
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
PDB12-H4251-202BF Bourns | Mouser

PTV09A-4020F-B202 Bourns | Mouser

2K OHM Linear Taper Potentiometer Round Knurled Plastic Shaft PCB 9mm

Your exact part is not available singly. The minimum order quantity is 250 pieces. You're going to have to custom mount a replacement control.
 
  #17  
Old 10-28-14, 06:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the suggestions! None of those are side-mount, so, I will search some more. There is an electronics parts shop a few miles from here. I will go with pictures in hand and make my case, and see what they come up with. He has amazed me in the past!
 
  #18  
Old 10-28-14, 09:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, I picked up a couple of pots. both 2k ohm, both side mount. There is one other attribute that I forgot about and that is the height from the center of the stem to the board as it has to line up with the hole on the side of the case. One of them is oriented with the solder tabs on the wrong side of the contacts. But, it has long connectors and I am customizing it to conform to my specs. Now, I just have to take the old one out and see how close I got.

So, a place like HK ONLY sells parts to authorized repair stations?
 
  #19  
Old 10-29-14, 05:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have you tried bending the tabs so they tighten everything up?
 
  #20  
Old 10-29-14, 06:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was going to do that but once I saw the broken plastic case (see the earlier rear view pic) I knew it was a lost cause. See what I mean?
 
  #21  
Old 10-30-14, 04:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I saw that. It means it won't hurt anything to try. If it works, add some small drops of super glue to the recipe.
 
  #22  
Old 11-07-14, 09:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Never hurts to try. I have contacted HK by email to see if they can supply me with the factory pot. No answer yet (will I ever get one?). If not, I will crimp the existing a little and see what happens. The plastic looks like the kind that super glue does not stick to (PE or PP). I will wait another week for HK then proceed as planned.

Thanks for your continued interest.
 
  #23  
Old 11-14-14, 10:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I finally got an answer from HK that they don't have the part, nor do they have the schematic or parts list. I hope that they mean NO to me as a consumer, but that they are available on a wholesale service basis. I have continued to peruse Google image looking for the same 2k pot but nothing that comes even close, ever. Seems odd but there it is. Maybe this weekend, I will try to install my customized 2k pot. I will be back.

Oh, I have learned that the spec for the pot is: 9mm, 2k ohm, 3 pin with snap-in, PCB mount, horizontal, D shaft
 

Last edited by Larbo; 11-14-14 at 11:58 PM.
  #24  
Old 11-16-14, 11:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,666
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
Maybe this weekend, I will try to install my customized 2k pot.
I've been servicing electronic equipment for many years. Remember.... "necessity is the mother of invention."
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: