Need help converting cat5 over to audio and video.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-14, 05:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Need help converting cat5 over to audio and video.

Basically i ran a cat5 cable from my bedroom to my kitchen. I am looking to split my fios box and watch it in my kitchen. So I am liking for a way to covert my cat5 over to receive the audio and video from upstairs. Would I use something like this? Evertech 10pcs UTP Cat5/Cat6 Cable to AV RCA Male Screw Terminal Audio/Video Connector:Amazon:Camera & Photo
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-14, 07:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
Pretty sure that isn't going to do it. Video over the FiOS is run from the router via coaxial cable with the cat 5 being an interface to the program guide and other services. Those plugs are for installing video cameras and using cat 5 for video and power interface.
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-14, 08:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you have any suggestions. How can I convert audio and video over cat5. I know I can do it to hdmi but I would need two cat5 cables to do so. Is there any other options?
 
  #4  
Old 11-17-14, 10:08 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,630
Received 515 Votes on 485 Posts
Using Cat5E there are several systems where you only need one cable to transmit HDMI.
One is Recoton. I'll check on others.
 
  #5  
Old 11-17-14, 10:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That would be great if you could point me in the direction that would be great.
 
  #6  
Old 11-17-14, 02:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #7  
Old 11-17-14, 10:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,630
Received 515 Votes on 485 Posts
The following is pretty close to the ones I've been using.....

HDMI® Extender Using Cat5e or CAT6 Cable - Extend Upto 328ft - Monoprice

The Cable Matters unit looks like it may work too.
 
  #8  
Old 12-12-14, 05:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 46
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HDMI over single Cat5e is easy, as you see... thought not particularly cheap. You'll want to look at adapters that support an IR blaster as well, so you can control the box from your remote location... otherwise you'll have to run all the way back upstairs every time you want to change channels. The Etekcity and Monoprice models appear to be the only ones linked above that have IR forwarding.

You CAN send simple composite video and stereo audio over a single Cat5e using an appropriate audio/video balun, like this: Robot Check

That's a lot cheaper, but won't give you HD picture or remote control.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: