A/V receiver recommendations

Old 01-24-15, 07:18 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/V receiver recommendations

Hi everyone...

I need a recommendation or suggestions of what features to look for for a new AV amp/receiver for my TV.

I have a wall mounted, Sony Bravia with 3 wall mounted external speakers (left, right and center). They are fairly high-end speakers. The old amp/receiver I inherited died.

I need a new amp/receiver to connect to the TV to drive the speakers. The built-in speakers on the TV aren't that great so I'm really looking to get the external speakers powered for movies, sports, etc. I have the other normal accessories (blueray, DVD, Wii, Xfininity box)

I'm not looking to spend a ton of money but really have no clue what features I should be looking for. There are so many options and I'm a rookie in this field.

Thank for the advice.

Scott

Sponsored Links
Old 01-24-15, 07:34 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,019 Votes on 946 Posts
I'm a Sony man from way back and I still have my 38" XBBR TV. Was the tops in it's days and has awesome sound.

I'm completely unimpressed with the sound from the Bravia TV's.

Most A/V receivers do the same thing. They can process HDMI if you want. In other words you can connect all your devices, blueray, DVD, Wii, Xfininity box, right to the receiver and it switches the audio and video. The video gets sent to the TV and the sound goes to your speakers.

You want power. Get something with lots of audio power. You will probably be getting an A/V receiver with 5.1 surround sound. That means you use five speaker. The three you already have and two rear surround speakers. You can always add the rear speakers in later if you aren't ready yet.

There are 7.1 surround receivers but for basic homes.... seven speakers can be a tough install. Most people, myself included, are satisfied with the five speaker setup.