Old vs new - reciever differences

Old 01-28-15, 09:22 AM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Is there really any sound quality differences between different recievers? I have an older kenwood reciever, extremely bare bones unit by today's standards, used primarily for movies and occasionally gaming. I'm wondering if I would get better sound from something newer BUT not high end.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-28-15, 09:40 AM
I'm no expert and I'll wait to see some replies just as you. My thinking is this (and I could be wrong). The new stereos have better surround and are easier to hook up. As far as sound quality, I have a Kenwood Receiver from around 1988. 250W per channel and at the time was one of the best receivers ever made. I doubt anything would sound as good as this receiver except maybe very high end power amps.

Old 01-28-15, 11:14 AM
E
As a side note, my kenwood reciever is 12 years old and has dolby digital, pro logic2, and DTS.

Old 01-28-15, 12:14 PM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Surround sound does indeed sound better...even on a cheap unit. If yours is only 2 channel stereo, 5.1 or 7.1 will be a huge change.

Old 01-28-15, 12:22 PM
E
My reciever is 5.1. It has a passive sub which I am replacing with an active one. Don't believe the reciever has adjustable crossover frequencies .

Old 01-28-15, 12:36 PM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I guess if you are a maestro, you might notice differences between cheaper and better brands. These old ears just don't really hear it anymore. I can feel the bass but I need to clearly hear the highs (talking, singing, etc). Thats all about the sound settings.

I had a system with an active sub...much easier to hook up except for finding another outlet for it. Much better sound I thought too...att. Now the passive pounding away in the other room drives me crazy when trying to sleep. The active you could at least turn off!.

Old 01-28-15, 03:27 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 586 Votes on 540 Posts